I’M GOING BACK TO JESUS

    It’s Sunday morning, again. “Can I get an AMEN to that, my children?” (thank you Pastor Jake) And, as you know, on occasion, I turn the blog over to the “Right Reverend” Pastor Jake. Then, the preaching begins!! Today however, Pastor Jake has graciously, (although somewhat reluctantly) stepped back from the spotlight that is his pulpit, and allowed our esteemed Choir Master, Mr. Jack, to lead us all in a hymn of his own creation. But, out of  fear of the possibility of copyright infringement, (“Can you say fear, my brothers and sisters?” ) (thank you again, Pastor Jake) only the first two verses of the hymn shall be sung (printed) this morning. On behalf of all of us here at the church of the “Cyber Offering” we offer this to you,  for your musical/spiritual/reading pleasure.

     Please enjoy this song filled Sunday,

Jake.

I’M GOING BACK TO JESUS

 I’m going back to Jesus,

once again,

I’m going back to Jesus,

once again,

I’m going back to Jesus,

and to His fold,

He’ll take me in.

I’m going back to Jesus,

once again.

*

I’m going to see the angels,

when I go,

I’m going to see the angels,

when I go,

I’m going to see the angels,

if the good Lord,

says it’s so.

I’m going to see the angels,

when I go.

***

Jack Downing

July 2000

©Jack Downing, aka, Jake, @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any form, without the expressed consent of the author. JRD 11/13/11

About poemsandponderings

Now Spring has arrived and now I must decide, which clothes that I can still wear. But I haven't lost any weight so I guess it's my fate to rummage through my closet and swear.
This entry was posted in demise, God, humor, journey, Kingdom, life, religion, soul, spiritual, Sunday. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’M GOING BACK TO JESUS

  1. We will all met again down by the riverside. At First Presbyterian Church of course.

    • Thank you Sister Rusty. The congregation seems to be increasing, that’s the good news, the bad news is… I haven’t figured out how to pass the collection plate.. Have a Safe and Sound Sunday, Pastor Jake.

Leave a Reply

