Thanks To Those Who Served

     This was my first “published” poem. Before I started blogging, I entered this into a “Poetry Contest” for which I received an honorary mention…I think I may have done better if, I had purchased the book(s), that the entries were supposed to be published in, and/or other “special offers” for the submitting authors only. The skeptic in me said forget about the $1000.00 prize but maybe one of the $25.00 prizes…The cynic in me said, if you don’t buy, you don’t win…The cynic it seems was right.

     However, this week is not about me, it is about the brave and dedicated men and women who have, and are serving their country wherever they are needed. So in honor of Veteran’s Day, to them I say “thank you!”

Jake.

Thanks To Those Who Served

When each day, that we awake,

and it’s freedom, that we find.

let us all, give thanks to those,

who gave to it, their time.

*

Some, gave to it their blood,

some, even gave to it, their minds,

thank the airmen, the sailors,

the guardsmen, and grunts, of all kinds.

*

 They came from all religions,

and every continent,

mothers and fathers proudly,

their children, they sent.

*

 To defend, all our freedoms,

that have been, so well-defined,

thank the airmen, the sailors,

the guardsmen, and grunts, of all kinds.

*

 From, every race and color,

and gender, you will find,

they were there, when needed,

some, leaving all, they had behind.

*

 So, when each day, that we awake,

and it’s freedom, that we find,

thank the airmen, the sailors,

the guardsmen, and grunts, of all kinds.

***

 Jack Downing

 June 2009

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Freedom, heart and soul, land of the free, Liberty, life, military/veterans, sailors, war. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Thanks To Those Who Served

  1. adeeyoyo says:

    You’re right, Jack, we mustn’t forget our lives today have their basis in history and the sacrifices of others before we were born.

    • Denise as per usual, your insight is spot on…Somewhere down the line, what is happening around the world today will also have an affect on others to come..I only pray that it is constructive and not destructive.
      Thanks again for your comments.
      Jake.

  2. Beth Ann says:

    Great tribute poem. 🙂 I think if you have a loved one who has served in any way you have a different feeling about the military. I get misty eyed when I think about it or when I hear one of the songs that is associated with any of the branches. And don’t get me started on the Star Spangled Banner. Sob fest.

    • Thank you as always Beth Ann. History will tell us that even the smallest of actions taken today, can have an impact on the lives of generations to come..We, as a nation, have always had men and women ready to serve and defend, without regard to their own well-being, for the greater good of us all. God has truly blessed us in that regard alone. Though we all wish it was not necessary, standing armies are our protection against the inevitable unknown.

  3. My father had surgery when his armored division shipped out invasion North Africa and stayed stateside. He was a middle weight boxer and his duty was exhibition bouts army camps here. As I understand it, there were 90% casualties. 1930ish Stuart tanks against panzers. Beat champ of England 1943 by the way.

  4. Pingback: Veterans Day « The Sexy Politico's Blog

Leave a Reply

