The Magic Line

Funny how the mind works, a half an hour before I typed this, I had no idea what I was going to post today. I even mentioned it to Denise at adeeyoyo.wordpress.com, as I was responding to her very nice comment on “Strive to Prevail,”  I said that I had no idea what I was going to publish today, and then alluded to needing some magic…when I said abracadabra..hmm, abracadabra, magic,,,  This came to mind immediately, I have posted it before and remember favorable comments.(especially from those who have crossed that line)

    I do hope those who have not seen it, will enjoy it, and those who have will remember it fondly.

Wishing for all a “Five Star Friday,”

Jake.

THE MAGIC LINE

 I woke up one morning,

and I was old.

And, it came on me faster,

than the common cold.

One day, I was a young man,

in my prime.

The next, it seemed,

I’d crossed, some magic line.

*

 Now, when I look back,

at the memories, that I hold,

I can say, that I never,

killed or stole.

But, a few times I’ll admit,

my pride, I sold.

And that’s a fact,

that leaves me, feeling cold.

*

 Oh, I’ve had me some times,

both good and bad.

I’ve got the scars to show,

for all, the times I had.

But, isn’t that,

what livings all about?

Make sure, that there’s a mark,

when you check out.

*

 But, before I die,

and leave this world behind,

I still, have got some living,

on my mind.

And, though my face be wrinkled,

and it’s lined,

if you see me, on the street,

now, treat me kind.

*

 For where, you’re standing now,

I walked that ground.

 And where I be,

your time, will come around.

And I would hate to be,

your regretful memory,

so, take this advice,

and know it’s sound.

*

 If, your pride is all you have,

you’ve done okay.

And, when your life is through,

you’ve had your say,

then, you’ll have been a man,

of wealth and worth.

And left your mark,

that you, were here on earth.

*

 Yes, you’ll wake up, one morning,

and you’ll be old.

Yes, it’ll come on faster,

than your common cold.

One day, you’ll be a young man,

in your prime,

and the next, it seems you’ve crossed,

that magic line.

*** 

Jack Downing

                                                                             Mar. 2011

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Elders, fleeting time, life, lifetime, Magic line, peace, pride, scars, truth, wealth and worth. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Magic Line

  1. adeeyoyo says:

    Oh I know that magic line very well, Jack. One day I said to my daughter, “You know, that old lady who was with you the other day…” She laughed and replied, “Oh, Mom, she’s not old. She’s the same age as you!” That really woke me up with a shock! Sometimes you catch a glimpse of yourself in a reflection and think it’s a stranger, lol! It took me quite a while to accept my outward appearance because, inside, I still feel twenty.

    • Ha, you have perfect perception. I hope your daughter knows she too,will one day step across the “magic line” Her remark was meant,I assume, to becomforting. But,hold on to those ‘twenties’inside, for once you let go, they are gone and suddenly you are…Old (I am still about 27 I think, not exactly Peter Pan, but not Methuzzalah,(sp) either.)

  2. Beth Ann says:

    I can totally identify with this one! I still think I am 28 tho the body does not agree with me. 🙂

  3. This is what happens when we live in the tomorrow or waiting for next week and preparing for next year. All the now is gone.

  4. sally says:

    Got it now!!!

  5. Pingback: The Joys of Life! « Ralphie´s Portal

Leave a Reply

