Strive To Prevail

     Occasionally I like to offer advice to our younger generation, not that I expect any of them are reading it. Yet, I will strive to prevail…Nice segue huh? Though the advice I give is only that which I have not taken myself, and that alone makes me knowledgable about the benefits of said advice. Say what? I know,, get on with the poem and stop your rambling foolishness, you old buzzard. (and you don’t think I know my readership) Basically, all I am saying is, don’t make the same mistakes that I have made,  remember, no one is going to come looking for you, unless they know you are out there. Make yourself known!

     Maybe someone out there will show this to a young person who just needs to know that if you don’t give it a try or two, or however many it takes, then your dream will never come true. And as an aside I offer this tidbit;

“The doors that you think,

to you are locked,

may only require,

a loud or persistent knock!”

      I wish for all of you, a day of great achievement.

Jake.

Strive To Prevail

Be not afraid,

to blaze new trails.

Life is a series,

of pass and fails.

*

Trial and error,

are the ships we sail,

the voyage long,

not without travail.

*

But, do not succumb,

and do not bail.

Always viewing,

the grander scale.

*

For great achievement,

must entail,

thoughts of grandeur,

to prevail.

***

Jack Downing

July 2009

©Jack Downing aka Jake@poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved.

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in children, craft, education, help, humor, interjections, life, ships, Success, wishing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Strive To Prevail

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Gonna send it to my boys!

  2. adeeyoyo says:

    Good advice, Jack, on both counts. One has to develop a thickened shell, I think, to succeed in life.

  3. Far too many people ain’t sailing no ship or blazing no trail. Except to the welfare office and having another kid for that $2,500 income tax refund bonus.

Leave a Reply

