The Duel

     I don’t think I have posted this before, but it has a few stanzas and I am going to try to use the solution that Denise over at.. Adeeyoyo.wordpress.com, offered. I have been given a few different suggestions to try, and I would like to thank all of you for your offerings; Beth Ann at.. It’s just life. wordpress.com, and Carl there at.. I know I made you smile.wordpress.com. And also.. L.T.L. at zaurs.wordpress.com, and to all of you, thanks again.

Have a more than mundane Monday,

Jake.

The Duel

Dancing silver slippers,

spawned, with silver spoon,

and silver tongue and laughter,

drawn in, the young men swoon.

*

Silver streaks of moonlight,

reflect, off silver steel.

With silver coins, bet on the side,

as to whom, the blade would feel.

*

Then be laid beneath, the golden cross,

gold coins upon his eyes.

Nevermore, to see her golden hair,

nor one more, gold sunrise.

*

Pierced to crimson’s heart,

the steel, now staining red,

with the living standing over him,

his final words, he said.

*

“Give all my love,

to the one you’ll hold.

But I advise to you,

may I, be so bold.”

*

“Beware her golden charm,

and silver chain,

sever now, the link.

Else wear, this scarlet stain.”

***

Jack Downing

Sept. 2011

     That works for me, thanks for the idea Denise. Kind of gives it some character too, I think.

©Jack Downing@ poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved.

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in blood and gore, chivalry, demise, innocent deaths, life, men, poet, violence, wealth and worth, women. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Duel

  1. Have fought over women in the past. Turned out none of them worth the effort.

  2. Beth Ann says:

    It worked!!!! Glad you had some expert advise to help you out!

Leave a Reply

