Alexander’s Blessing

     Sunday mornings are for spiritual thought and reflection. This poem was written after we purchased our home (the family homestead) from the estate of my late mother-in-law, though it was originally built by my late father-in-laws family somewhere around a hundred years ago. One hundred years, so you can imagine the need I felt for a blessing for the old place. But I think it will be appropriate for anyone who is moving into a new/different house.

     I remember when everyone’s house had some sort of blessing on the wall, even the humorous type..You know Bless this Mess, etc. God Bless each and all of you on this Sunday and the abode in which you live.

     Put some “sun” in someones Sunday,

Jake,

Alexander’s Blessing

Bless the windows,

bless the doors,

bless the ceiling,

bless the floors,

and please don’t forget,

the halls and walls.

Bless my dog,

bless my spouse,

bless the cat,

to catch the mouse,

and bless, the brand new,

glassed-in, shower stall.

Bless the attic,

bless the roof,

bless the basement,

bless the stoop,

and always, bless the toilet,

when, nature calls.

Bless the table,

bless the chairs,

bless the sofa,

bless the stairs,

oh, what the heck,

why not, bless it all.

Yes, bless this home,

bless the lot,

and, bless anything else,

that I forgot,

but mostly, bless the people,

big and small.

Jack Downing

Oct. 2010

all rights reserved, all content written or otherwise at ©poemsandponderings remain the property of the author. John Downing, aka Jack Downing, aka Jake Downing, unless specifically authorized.

About poemsandponderings

Now Spring has arrived and now I must decide, which clothes that I can still wear. But I haven't lost any weight so I guess it's my fate to rummage through my closet and swear.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Animals, blessings, cats, demise, dog, Elders, Family, God, humor, wishing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Alexander’s Blessing

  1. adeeyoyo says:

    This is beautiful. No one in my family ever, to my knowledge, asked for blessings on a home, but I have seen those wall hangings in other older people’s homes. I have always asked God in my prayers to bless my home and family.

  2. Beth Ann says:

    We have had so many homes but never had them officially blessed. My sister, as a pastor, has blessed several homes. There is actually a service in the Book of Worship if I am not mistaken for this which is pretty neat. Maybe once Chris and I put down roots someplace we can do that…..but don’t hold your breath. Our homes have been pretty blessed without the official blessing!

    • Your homes have been always blessed with the love that you and your family have put in them. Thanks for the “like” again, and I won’t hold my breath on the permanent place..given your history of2.5 years, on average..Hahaha.

Leave a Reply

