When All Is Well Within

     Back into the archives we go…This was one of my earliest poems, and as I re-read it, I try to remember what may have been going through my mind at the time. May, 2009…A very sad and trying time for us, yet I don’t know whether this was wishful thinking, a respite from the recent emotional tribulations, or an internal/psychological, “don’t worry, it’ll be alright,” message. No matter, I still find it soothing and as pleasant as a walk upon the shore. I do indeed wish for all of you, the same sense that I receive from it.

Please, have a whispering Wednesday,

Jake.

When All Is Well Within

How gentle are the breezes,

when all is well, within?

For peaceful minds at rest,

can tame the howling wind.

When life’s tensions, fade to black,

and your thoughts, return to calm,

zephyrs whisper in your ear,

“no one will do you harm.”

It matters not, the course you sail,

to walk upon this shore.

With the rocks and shoals behind you,

the tempest, is no more.

Jack Downing

May 2009

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Family, history, inner satisfaction, life, oceans, peace, reflections, spiritual, the shore, tranaquility and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to When All Is Well Within

  1. Michael says:

    I am delighted after reading this post. Thanks for so passionately sharing your valuable thoughts with us and again for your piece of advice – I will be looking it up soon.

  2. adeeyoyo says:

    Beautiful thoughts, Jack, that fit my waking mood perfectly… Thank you so much. 🙂

    • Thanks Denise, andby the way, you figure prominently in tomorrow’s post, I truly hope you enjoy it as well. I am so happy you awoke in that peaceful frame of mind today, relish every second, savor every minute. Jake.

  3. Should be set to music. Echoes like something from a good Presbyterian or Methodist hymnal. I’ve always felt the”don’t worry, it’ll be alright” advice was utterly stupid and enragingly insulting for the sufferer. On the other hand if our faith is fortified in Jesus it does make perfect sense. Another is “I’m sure it will turn out just fine.” Oh, really? How can you be sure? You have recently become a seer and prophet? One that does make sense is “this too will pass” and it will turn out the way it was meant to turn out. So make the adaptations, buddy.

  4. Beth Ann says:

    I found it very soothing also!!! And the picture is a fabulous visual to go with it. I am going to remember that line….”the tempest is no more”. Love it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

