The Human Recipe

     Sometimes I get asked, “where do you come up with this stuff?” Well, I thought about that and I came up with this analogy;

     My mind is like the subway station, not much happens, until that train comes through. (but sometimes the train is an express, and doesn’t stop at all) This is the train that came through on Friday last. (10/21/11)

      You know what I don’t understand? (aside from French, German, Italian, Mandarin Chinese, etc.) (oh, and quantum physics, calculus, astronomy and electricity……and plumbing) People!! Nope, I don’t get people. If, according to applied biology, we are all made up of the same ingredients, (though the measurements may fluctuate unfairly) then how do the results of the recipe, vary so greatly?

How can some be sweet,

and some be sour?

How can some be happy,

and some be dour?

Some be upbeat,

and some, be down?

Some always smiling,

and some always, a frown?

Okay, so maybe it’s the cook,

or, maybe it’s the oven.

Then maybe after all,

it’s just, the amount, of lovin’!

Jack Downing

Oct. 21, 2011

     As always, keep in back of the yellow line, and beware of the “third rail”!

Have a superlative Sunday,

Jake.

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in college, education, honesty, humor, incumbrances, judgement, Magic line, politicians, reflections, spelling. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Human Recipe

  1. Jan Delaney says:

    Very clever, Jack. Well said.

    • Well, thank you very much… I am glad to know that you think I’m “clever” my head is swelling as I type!! lol Seriously Jan, thank you. How are you, and how is Tom (aka Frank)? I am hoping that all is well with you and all of the family. Jake.

  2. Michael says:

    Brilliant. Have a beautiful Sunday, Jack.

  3. Wow, very intelligent, I think I like you because our great minds think a lot ALIKE

    • Thank you Jackie, you have left me without words after your generous (yet self-promoting) comment. lol
      I am really glad that you enjoyed it enough to comment on it. By the way, your pictures of fall are amazing, as I commented #3 is my favorite.
      Thanks again,
      Jake.

  4. adeeyoyo says:

    Very good, Jack. I’m sure you’re right! 😀

    • Thanks Denise, Ihave beenblessed with an extra measure of love..so I kind of feel sorry for the mopes and the crabs and the “woe is me” type of people. But, I pity most the angry, the loveless,and the depressed. So much of life spent on negativity….such a waste of valuable time. I pray that you are well and having a wonderful day, thanks again, Jake.

Leave a Reply

