Hunting Season

     I have been hunting only once in my life.. I shot a tree.. It lived. Not exactly the outdoorsman, not even a good fisherman, except for the occasional deep-sea fishing trip, though not even that lately, I haven’t fished since I was a very young man. Don’t remember catching anything then either. Camping? Forget it! Come to think of it, the last time I went fishing was the last time I went camping as well. But, I digress, hunting is the topic for today, and the season is near. I have mixed emotions as to the “sport.” If you are truly, hunting for food to feed your family, I commend you and wish you well. If on the other hand you are only out there for the social “experience,”  then you are a danger to the animals, the environment, the real and true hunters and to yourself. Stay home, watch the “Outdoor Channel,” and buy your meat at the grocery store, like the rest of us.

     I am now speechless. (temporarily)

Thursday is the gateway day to T.G.I.F.

Have a great one,

Jake.

 Hunting Season

The bear and the moose,

out in the loose,

are running today,

for their lives.

So too, are the deer,

for the hunters are here,

for food, or escape,

from their wives.

And they run for good reason,

for they, are in season,

but safe now, the duck,

and the goose.

Yet, the old and wise owl,

has suggested, those fowl,

learn from the bear,

and the moose.

For their hunters will come,

for food or just fun,

and in a duck blind,

then they’ll hide.

And quack with a whistle,

then fire their missiles,

when the flock overhead,

it is spied.

But, now back to the land,

where in a tree-stand,

the hunter, he sits,

and he waits.

For something to move,

on paws or on hooves,

whichever will come,

by the fates.

But, the hunter should know,

that wherever you go,

there’s a fool sitting,

not far away.

And with booze and a gun,

since ahead of the sun,

nothing is safe,

there today.

But, the moose and the bear,

they know, that they’re there,

and along with the deer,

they stay low.

And, it’s but once a year,

or they run out of beer,

but, sooner or later,

they’ll go.

So, the bear and the moose,

and the hunters are loose,

and are fearing today,

for their lives.

So too, are the deer,

knowing that fear,

with no telling, just who,

will survive!

Jack Downing

Oct. 2011

About poemsandponderings

Now Spring has arrived and now I must decide, which clothes that I can still wear. But I haven't lost any weight so I guess it's my fate to rummage through my closet and swear.
This entry was posted in Animals, beer, early risers, environment, fire, gun, husbands and wives, violence, warning, whiskey. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Hunting Season

  1. adeeyoyo says:

    Yes, indeed, who WILL survive? I think hunting should be banned, even for the reason of keeping numbers down… and that’s another debate!

    Jack I love your sense of humour which, no matter the subject, always seems to butt in!

    • BUTT in? Just what are you saying Denise??? lol ‘Butt’ thanks, though. I’m reminded of Judy Collin’s song “Both Sides Now”….”and leave ‘em laughing when you go and if you care, don’t let it show, don’t give yourself away.” Always loved that song, and “Send in the Clowns” as well. Thanks again for the “Like” hit, too. Jake.

  2. Beth Ann says:

    Kind of timely considering the unfortunate “hunting” in Zanesville over the past couple of days.(Fact of the day—I was actually born in Zanesville) I am not a hunter and you already know of my love of the Whisper Channel…..

    • Ha, I thought of you as I typed the “Outdoor Network” too funny…Though hunting “accidents” are way too prevelant, I’m just curious, they all wear bright orange clothing…What does the shooter think he’s aiming at? To the best of my knowledge there aren’t any animals of that color. Perhaps the leaves are close to that color, so maybe “Hot Pink” or “Chartreuse” would be a better option. (I can see the headlinenow.. “Hunting, nowgrowing in popularity within the Gaycommunity, record numberstake out “dear”licenses this year”)lol. Sorry..sometimes I can’t help myself.

  3. Pingback: Wis. Deer Hunters Fired Up | Wis U.P. North

    • I am afraid that your comment to this post, was not clear…I would like to hear your point of view.
      Oh, and by the way….”God Bless America” and the rights of it’s (legal) citizens as provided to them by the Constitution of the United States of America.
      Whether you or I do, or do not, choose to exercise any one of our particular rights, is a matter of choice, and as such, should be left to the individual to decide.
      That is the very principal, the core value, that our Country is based on! (However, I must add ‘that for every right, there is a responsibility’)
      Please, visit again soon,
      Jake.

Leave a Reply

