A Drink With A Friend

     As I said yesterday, friends and friendship will be the theme for this week. I also mentioned that it has been on my mind for the past couple of years, how friendships can just seem to fade. How friends can become strangers through complacency and/or coincidence and we never see it coming, but, it doesn’t just happen, it develops. I hope it won’t be a regret that you have in your life, as friends are a thread to our past, and a stitch that you don’t want to drop.

Have a wickedly wonderful Wednesday,

Jake.

A Drink With A Friend

Last night I had a drink,

with my old friend,

we talked about the old times,

and laughed about our petty crimes,

and all the time and money,

we had spent.

I was reminded of a pretty girl,

a little red-head, as I recall,

who almost put an end,

to the two of us being friends,

but our friendship didn’t die,

it merely stalled.

But then the years, and incidents,

combined to separate,

the two of us pals,

and, we each met gals.

I guess that you,

might call it fate.

We lost touch along the way,

and how it happened, I don’t know,

first a day, and then a week,

then a month we wouldn’t speak.

And the years flew by,

until that day, a week ago.

Yes, just a week ago,

I got the news,

that, my friend was gone,

and a friendship long,

was mine, once more,

to lose.

But, I see him now more frequently,

and share a drink or two.

 In the nighttime, while I sleep,

it helps his memory, still to keep,

and to him I promise now,

a friend that’s true.

Jack Downing

Mar. 2011

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in demise, fleeting time, history, honesty, in my opinion, life, Life's Companion, Life's Journey, lifetime, Make Believe, men, mourning, old days, peace, pledge, reflections, rum, Sleep, Spirits, thoughts, truth, whiskey, wishing, women. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Drink With A Friend

  1. I have several “a big part of my life” friends and they have just seemed to evaporate away into total absence and I don’t know how or why. Or where they may be. Or not be.

    • So sad, but so common, especially in this age of far-extended families and such. Where aging relatives can no longer afford or physically maintain the home that was so familiar to them and off they are shipped/sent/taken-in, to “Only God Knows Where.” And though this is the “Era of Communication,” what with all the devices we have at our disposal, we still lose track of people, and cannot figure out why… Mundacity, the everyday routine, the rut, that most of us seem to meander through life in, offers no tributaries, no off-ramps, no rest stops, (excepting one.) While we may be meandering in parallels, the twain, shall meet no more. Oh, sorry for that, quite a rant it turned into. Jake.

  2. Beth Ann says:

    Wow—what a great poem. I love this one. You know how important friends are to me and I have been blessed beyond belief with both real and imaginary ones (YOU!). I loved in the opening how you said that friends are a thread to our past and a stitch you don’t want to drop….gonna quote you on that one! It may show up on a card someday for sure!!!

    • Thank you Beth Ann, andI see your”stitch” club is still active..I don’t know where that thoughtcame from in the opening. ‘Stuff Happens’sometimes. But I am glad you enjoyed it. Jamocha

  3. libraryscene says:

    an apt reminder…the fleeting friendships in this fleeting life when it takes a loss to realize how awful it is to have let the friendship unravel. I’ve been there…it still bothers me ~

    • They say that blood is thicker than water, not always. Sometimes a friend is more family than family and the difference is youchoose your friends and they you. Friends often know more about you than your family. (good and bad.) I am sorry for your friendships lost, but I am confident there are more in your future. Your friend, Jake.

  4. adeeyoyo says:

    Sometimes you can meet a new friend and feel you have known them all your life! And sometimes close friends just drift away…

    • So true Denise, it is sad when friends drift away, yet the attachment we sometimes make immediately, should give us pause for thought.. Chemistry? Kismet?Kindred Spirits on a parallel journey? I only know that itis agift, that maybe He, thinks we need at the time. Enjoy your day, Jake.

Leave a Reply

