Friends

     I may do a theme week again, I’m thinking maybe, friends. I don’t have a lot of close friends anymore, at least not those that I see on a regular basis. How did this happen? I don’t really know, time and circumstance, I would guess.  But, it must be weighing on my mind these past few years, as I have written a number of poems related to subject. So I will begin with the latest, surprisingly titled…”Friends.” Go figure.

I wish for all of you at least one, true and  faithful friend, who will never fade from your life, nor you from theirs. And if you have them, keep them, there is no limit on how many you can have or how long you may keep them.

Jake.

Friends

Precious and few,

are friends, that are true.

As life’s journey,

wends us through,

the days of being me,

and the days of being you.

And though space and time,

may come between us,

you and I,

will share the trust,

of friends, until,

a diamond, fades to rust.

Or at least, until the day,

we turn to dust.

                                              Jack Downing

                                      Sept. 2011

About poemsandponderings

Now Spring has arrived and now I must decide, which clothes that I can still wear. But I haven't lost any weight so I guess it's my fate to rummage through my closet and swear.
This entry was posted in ponderings, life, reflections, Words on Wanderings, Why is it?, in my opinion, Earth and Us, history, old days, wishing, idea, fleeting time, Life's Companion, help, pledge, wealth and worth, thoughts, traveler, honesty, judgement, truth, lifetime, Life's Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Friends

  1. Pearl says:

    Well said jack. A true friend cannot be appreciated enough. I count myself to have several long term true friends. I am grateful daily.

  2. Jan says:

    I really like that one, Jake. It hits home.

  3. adeeyoyo says:

    Lovely poem Jack. Your sentiments are just like mine and you have made me think and wonder… Thank you.

    • The saddest part for me is, thatalthough I think aboutmybest friend who lives or lived in the next town, I don’t try to contact him and I don’t know exactly why. Probably out of embarrassment at not doing it sooner.

  4. Michael says:

    Wow … a very nice post indeed. Keep posting more. !!!

Leave a Reply

