A Dog’s Life

     I have just learned of a new subscriber to poemsandponderings, a veterinarian from Australia. Welcome aboard Doc, this one’s for you. The rest of you have read this before. A couple of months ago I posted this and though I did say it was in honor of  our new friend from “Down Under“, it was also my biggest read ever. So while honoring a new subscriber, I selfishly am hoping for another super-charge to the ego…

G’day mates,

Jake.

A Dog’s Life

 If I were a dog,

what kind be I?

a Greyhound, a terrier,

Jack Russell, or Skye?

A setter or spaniel,

Poodle or Pug,

big mean and ugly,

or cute as a bug?

 

Bulldog or Boxer,

giant or mini?

A mutt off the street,

or one, costing a penny?

Long hair or short,

tail curly or straight,

or barely a stump,

would that be my fate?

 

Would I be a barker,

a howler, or worse?

a growler and biter,

that people would curse?

Would I live in a house,

or out on the street,

scrapping and scrounging,

for a morsel to eat?

 

Would I be a work dog,

or sit on a lap?

Would I go inside,

or outside, to nap?

Would I have ticks,

and would I have fleas?

But, I’d like to have toys,

that squeak, when they’re squeezed.

 

A Beagle or Bassett,

or maybe a Schnauzer?

I suppose it won’t matter

 what kind of a bowser.

As long as there’s someone,

who’ll pat and who’ll rub,

then I will care not,

if my tail, is a stump!

 

 Jack Downing

May 2011

About poemsandponderings

Now Spring has arrived and now I must decide, which clothes that I can still wear. But I haven't lost any weight so I guess it's my fate to rummage through my closet and swear.
This entry was posted in Animals, Australia, children, comfort, command, dog, Down Under, Family, humor, life, Life's Companion, Make Believe, men, mischievious, mutt, ponderings, reflections, Sleep, stranger, veterinarian, wealth and worth, wishing, women, Words on Wanderings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Dog’s Life

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Welcome to “Doc”. Glad you reposted this—it was well worth a reread!! Bark bark!!!

Leave a Reply

