Introspect In Retrospect

     This title seems appropriate after yesterday’s post. It would seem that I thought that “Out of My Tree” was funnier, than maybe it was. As there was very little feedback on it, one must assume it was not one of my more well  received poems.  Again, I apologize if anyone was offended, though I have stated many times, that eventually, I would offend everyone. Because, what I write has no parameters nor constraints and is merely an expression of what comes to me at any given time. Inspiration it seems is not always accepted as inspiring. 

     No sermons this Sunday, just prayers for a peaceful day for us all.

Jake.

Introspect In Retrospect

A bigger fool, there’s never been,

than the one that’s living, in my skin.

That is the thought, of this here man,

who went through life, without a plan.

 Accepting days, as they passed by,

never viewing, with the inner eye,

never seeing days and weeks,

until the years, the bones, caused creaks.

 Never frugal, or self-controlled,

as money through, the fingers rolled,

tomorrow always, the start anew,

but, as for today, I’ll have my due.

 Then tomorrows, there are few,

and regret’s life’s meadow’s dew.

So, sow thy seed, but tend, thy crop,

and take only cuttings, off the top.

 

 

Jack Downing

Nov. 2009

 

 

 

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in fleeting time, history, honesty, life, reflections, Sunday, thoughts, truth, wealth and worth, wishing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Introspect In Retrospect

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Well I liked yesterday’s post!!! I suspect few comments were due to it being a weekend—my traffic is usually lower on Saturdays —people must have more to do than sit around and read blogs like I do! 🙂 Happy Sunday!

Leave a Reply

