In A Time Of Mercy

     It is Sunday morning afternoon again,(I slept in) and once more I take to the ‘pulpit’ to attempt to soothe my conscience. Distressed by all of my own transgressions, I feel the need to have others (my cyber congregation) join me in an internal investigation. Brothers and sisters let us review now, our frailties and misguided actions. Then we must turn our attention toward our only hope for salvation. Begging Him for mercy!!!

Have a safe and soulful Sunday,

Jake.

In A Time Of Mercy

I know I have no right,

to even ask,

for more than what’s been given,

in the past.

And I know, I’m not deserving,

still, I’ll plea,

in a time of mercy,

think of me.

 

I have sinned, more times,

than I can count.

The Commandments, to me,

not paramount.

But, I am sorry now,

as sorry, as can be.

In a time of mercy,

think of me.

 

I must ask forgiveness,

for all I’ve done.

I’ve let you down,

a lot more times, than one,

more times, than leaves,

upon a tree.

In a time of mercy,

think of me.

 

I could have done much better,

with my life,

and I know, I would’ve had,

a lot less strife.

I should have been more,

of what you’d want of me.

In a time of mercy,

think of me.

 

I know if I repent,

I’ll save my soul,

my body and my spirit,

will be whole.

So when I die,

and you, I go to see,

in a time of mercy,

think of me.

 

Lord of mercy,

think of me.

Oh please, have mercy,

Lord on me.

In that time of mercy,

think of me.

                                                                                    

                                                                                              Jack Downing

                                                                                              May 2009

 

 

About poemsandponderings

Now Spring has arrived and now I must decide, which clothes that I can still wear. But I haven't lost any weight so I guess it's my fate to rummage through my closet and swear.
This entry was posted in blessings, Creator, Earth and Us, God, heart and soul, honesty, judgement, Kingdom, religion, repent, salvation, soul, spiritual, Sunday, The Commandments, thoughts, torment, truth, wishing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In A Time Of Mercy

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Great post today, as usual. Thanks! I did not attend church today either so it struck a chord.

  2. bless you.

    it is cool to have faith and ..

    keep it up.

  3. Denise Allen says:

    What a beautiful prayer…

Leave a Reply

