An Idle Thought &The Kingdom Comes to Pass

 It’s double-header day here at poemsandponderings. This was written over two years ago, and now the political B.S. is starting all over again “I’ll do this” and “I’ll do that” they tell us. Or the “we just need a little more time to accomplish our plan” spiel.  Yet, two years later we are still in this mess. It is time for us to make ‘them’ understand that this is no longer acceptable. We must hold them accountable for their ‘Campaign Promises’!!

     Then read about what I would do, if I were ‘The King’

If nothing else have some fun with it,

Jake.

An Idle Thought  

I had this thought,

go through my mind,

about the state, we’re in.

 It’s not the economy,

or ecology,

that has our heads a spin.

 the problem lies,

seen through, my eyes,

over which, the wool’s been pulled.

 You will not dine,

on rib that’s prime,

from the hind end, of the bull.

 

 Jack Downing

June 2009

 

 The kingdom Comes to pass

If I ascend to be a king,

I’ll demand my subjects, all to sing,

my praises, as I pass.

 But, I will not rule, with iron hand,

with velvet glove, I will command,

then, my kingdom, it shall last.

 For if I be, a tyrant then,

all the king’s horses, and all the king’s men,

will assure, that my passing comes fast.

                                   

Jack Downing

July 2009

 

 

 

 

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in All the king's horses and all the king's men, Americana, bull, Campaign Promises, command, history, honesty, humor, in my opinion, iron hand, king, Kingdom, life, pledge, political, politicians, Songs and Dances, thoughts, truth, tyrant, U.S. Government, velvet glove, vote, warning. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Idle Thought &The Kingdom Comes to Pass

  1. You’ve got John Donne’s style down pat

Leave a Reply

