Devotion

     It was only about two years ago that I started writing, and recently, (inspired by Rachel and Gregg’s wedding), I thought to myself,  “if I was writing 31+ years ago when I married my wife Beth, what could I have written as my wedding vow?” I wish that back then I could have come up with this one. I hope you enjoy it.

Jake.

Devotion

I give to you now,

this band of gold,

to place upon your hand,

and I pledge to you,

my heart and soul,

for as long, as mountains stand.

For as long,

as there are oceans,

and there are stars above,

and for as long,

as I, have air to breathe,

I’ll give to you, my love.

 

Jack Downing

Aug. 2011 

About poemsandponderings

Now Spring has arrived and now I must decide, which clothes that I can still wear. But I haven't lost any weight so I guess it's my fate to rummage through my closet and swear.
This entry was posted in Rachel's wedding, Earth and Us, history, Flowers, Family, Gardens, band of gold, pledge, heart and soul, mountains, oceans, stars above, wedding vows. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Devotion

  1. sally says:

    Hey Jack,
    If it was your intention to bring a girl to tears…. it worked !!
    Every spouse should feel that way and not be afraid to say it…

    B R A V O!!!

    • Thanks Sal, but she hasn’t seen it yet… I’m holding it back as a “get out of jail free card” “What do you mean I don’t love you anymore”? “Look what I wrote”… (hypothetical situation, of course.)

      ha ha ha.

  2. Beth Ann says:

    Sweet!!!! Love it!!! Chris and I wrote our own vows for our wedding some 29 years ago but they were not poetic at all….though definitely from the heart. Love what you wrote today!!! And I am sure your bride does too!

    • Haven’t shown it to her….yet. It’s the perfect “get out of jail free card.” There is always, “amethod to my madness,”

      well sometimes. Okay, once in a while. Or, is it a madness to my methods? Hmm.lol

  3. the “band of gold” was the Beatles

Leave a Reply

