The Upside Downings

This one goes out to Megan Downing, as promised. The morning of the wedding, we were socializing at the Hilton Hotel, when she started semantically playing around with our last name. I told her I had written something like that and I would post it for her. I don’t get to see my nieces, Erin (Austin, Texas) and Megan (Santa Barbara, California) very often and it was especially fine to have them at Rachel and Gregg’s wedding. The same I will  say for my sister-in-law, Pearl, who by the way, surprised me no end with a published hard covered book of some of my poems. (Complete with her own pictures), she did an unbelievable job and I was stunned and ecstatic. Thanks Pearl,

love Jake.

ps. This one is not in the book.

The Upside Downings

 The upside Downings

 moved in today,

 and, what a strange band, they be.

 They wear hats, on their feet,

 and stockings, on their heads,

 and pants, where there shirts, should be.

 Their fronts, are in back,

 but, they sure have a knack,

 for, looking at life, differently.

 

 Jack Downing

Sept. 2010

 

 

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in California, Family, humor, life, nieces, Rachel's wedding, reflections, Texas, Words on Wanderings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Upside Downings

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Love it!!! And what a sweet gift that was from Pearl!!! You must have a great family!!!

    • My family is amazing, we don’t always see a lot of each other, (one brother lives in the same town and I see the one from California more.), but when we do get together as a group or individually, it is like wejust saw each otheryesterday. Pearl by the way is extremely talented, you may have picked up on that from her blog, and she is the one who got me started posting my poetry..Now the book, my career is taking off. My great-great-great, grandchildren may actually make some money off of me!!! lol Seriously though, my sister Denise, is the “salt of the earth” and the magnetic core of the family. God has blessed me way more than I deserve. Good luck with your business. How long are you going to be gone? Taking your lap top with you I hope! Your friend, Jake

Leave a Reply

