Faces On The News

     I was reminded of this poem the other day while watching the local news on TV. A somewhat, less than attractive group of people, were relating to the reporter what had happened in their neighborhood. I don’t even remember the story, only the faces and the use of the vernacular. (English is going the way of Latin, it too is becoming a ‘dead language’.) After reading it, I challenge you to look at the news without thinking about it. Tell me if I’m wrong!

     Happy hump day!

     Jake.

 

Faces On The News

 With no offense,

 to those, who don’t,

 look, quite as good, as me.

 

 I have a question,

 that begs, response,

 why is it, that I see,

 

 your faces, always,

 on the news,

 and your opinions, given free,

 

To anyone, who asks you,

 would you like,

 to be on TV?

 

 Jack Downing

 June 2009

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Americana, Challenges, humor, life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Faces On The News

  1. Reminded me of a political/TV presence thing I have been thinking about. The President of the United States is on TV every single day. If there are events of significance, and there are many, he naturally would be on the screen often. But every single day? He is omnipresent just like Orwell’s society. Seems like we have perfected the cult of the leader better than the Russians did with Marx, Lenin and the butcher Stalin. Secondly. it is estimated that President Obama will raise and spend over 1 billion $ for his reelection campaign. If he is in the news all day, every day, why does he have to spend anything? Like, will it sway any votes or change anyone’s mind? I doubt it. Since Republicans have no credible candidates he should win easily this time around.

    • We are in desperate need of a viable third party in this country..When you have only two choices, you may as well flip a coin. Can you imagine? Okay, America it is 8pm est, 7pm cst, 5pm pst, etc. etc. It is time to flip your coins, to elect the next president of the United States of America. Remember, report only your coin toss result (only one toss please.)

      Heads or Tails. For those of you who are sight impaired pleaseask a friend or neighbor to record your result. Heads and tails tags have already been determined, those determinations and the results, will be posted before 12(m) est. All together now vote……..Come to think about it, maybe we would be better off that way! Have the best day you can Carl, remember “Don’t let the bastards get you down” Jake.

    • It is really refreshing to me to find a conservative teacher/retired teacher, you sir, are indeed a rare species. I have a few poems that refer to that subject and the effects of educational liberalism on our youth/future. I’ll post one this week, perhaps tomorrow. Thanks for that inspiration. I have recorded your e-mail address in my contacts. If at any time you wish not to receive e-mails from me (jakestah23@yahoo.com) just say so, and I will cease immediately. Again, have the best day you can. Jake.

Leave a Reply

