America You’re Beautiful

     This is my tribute to the greatest country in the world. It was intended, to be a patriotic song. But, as all of you know, I have not the ability to achieve that goal. None the less, it works well as a poem also.

     Most of the I haves and I have beens are pure fiction, though some, like the Chesapeake Bay reference and the Great Lakes inclusion are from personal experience. (Oh, I have seen the Great Lakes, via the  Naval Recruit Training Center (NRTC) in what seems lifetime ago.) And I have been to the rocky coast of Maine, (one of my favorite spots of all), and I have crossed the Mississippi, before I turned twenty-one. (Looking for moonshine, didn’t find any though.) 

     But, I have seen the hurricane, the blizzard and the flood, and I have seen what the American people are not only capable of, but what they are willing to do, for others. And not just at home. As a people, there have been no more generous and caring individuals anywhere, or at anytime or any place since civilization began. That is what this country is all about, E Pluribus Unum.

     HAPPY BIRTHDAY AMERICA,

     GOD HAS BLESSED US ALL.

     Have a great fourth everyone and excuse my rambling, please.

    Jake

America You’re Beautiful

 I have seen the Rocky Mountains,

I’ve seen them from both sides,

I have seen the Painted Desert,

and I’ve seen the Great Divide.

 

I have seen your majestic oceans,

in the east and in the west.

America, you’re beautiful,

and we’ve been truly blessed.

 

I have seen the Gulf of Mexico,

I’ve seen the Great Lakes, too.

I have seen the bear and eagle,

and I’ve been to Caribou.

 

I have seen the verdant forests,

of the vast northwest.

America, you’re beautiful,

and we’ve been truly blessed.

 

I have seen the Everglades,

I’ve seen the rocky coast of Maine,

I have seen the great Salt Lake,

and Seattle, in the rain.

 

I have also been atop,

of Mount McKinley’s crest.

America, you’re beautiful,

and we’ve been truly blessed.

 

I’ve been down the Mississippi,

 and across the Chesapeake Bay,

I have crossed the gap, at Cumberland,

and the desert, near Santa Fe.

 

I’ve seen those amber waves of grain,

throughout the great midwest,

America, you’re beautiful,

and we’ve been truly blessed.

 

But, I have seen the hurricane,

the blizzard, and the flood.

And I’ve seen your people,

donate their money, food, and blood.

 

Now, that’s what makes you special,

it’s your people at their best.

America, you’re beautiful,

and we’ve been truly blessed.

 

Yes, America, you’re beautiful,

and we’ve been truly blessed!

 

 Jack Downing

Nov. 2008

     After that diatribe I am completely speechless, (lying) so I’m going to take the rest of the week off to reload, and catch up on my transcribing and typing. (plus it’s my vacation) So, have a wonderful week my loyal followers.

     Thanks to all of you.

     Jake.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Americana, in my opinion, life, Words on Wanderings. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to America You’re Beautiful

  1. Beth Ann says:

    That was awesome, Jake! Thanks!!! Enjoy some rest and vacay! Will miss you!

  2. Pearl says:

    Love this post Jake…I’m a traveler at heart and your “list” of wonderful places are food for my imagination. Well done!
    Enjoy your holiday, you deserve it.
    See you SOON!
    xo

Leave a Reply

