The Right to Remain Silent

     I promised this one to a friend of mine. A politically conservative, American patriot, who has some very real concerns, about the direction our nation is being led. I find I share a lot of the same worries.

The Right to Remain Silent

Don’t speak to me,

about your rights,

if you sneak through,

the fence, at night.

 Or, cross the border,

in a van,

driven by, the greedy man.

 Or, if you sail,

on board a raft,

or pay your way,

with bribe, or graft.

 You cannot steal,

what’s given free,

to those,

who, do it properly.

 

The only right,

you have, I see,

is the right to leave,

so please, feel free.

 Then if and when,

you should come back,

with legal papers,

in your pack.

 Then I will listen,

to your speech,

about your rights,

all, and each.

 

Jack Downing

June 2009

 

 

    

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Americana, in my opinion, political. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

