A Mother’s Gift

         This was one of my first posts on poemsandponderings.com. On May 7, 2009 my mother passed away at the age of ninety years, and during her final days I began writing. It started as notes to my brothers and sister (in rhyme of course), and evolved(?) into what I am doing today. That was Mother’s Day weekend, Thursday, to be exact, and now I find the day to be even more special than ever.

         Mothers are indeed incredible. No matter how much we may hurt them or disappoint them, they LOVE us with their very soul. And nothing can change that fact. I miss my mom dearly. ( I teared slightly writing that and I’m not ashamed to admit it). So if you still have your mom with you, this weekend, enjoy her company and make it special for her. I wish I could!  I was going to publish this on Sunday, but I’ve changed my mind and I’m going to publish today, hoping someone who may not have seen it then, will see it now, and realize that we only have one mother, and they are God’s gift.

       Enjoy,

       Jack.

   HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY

 A MOTHER’S GIFT

You filled a space,

no other could,

you taught me always,

think the good,

of those I meet,

along the way,

and sunrise brings,

a whole new day.

 Dwell not upon,

a hurt or slight,

and let the heart decide,

the wrong or right,

of what I do,

or what is done,

then let it go,

with the setting sun.

 But, of all the lessons,

I have learned,

there’s but one upon,

my soul’s been burned,

there is no stronger,

force on earth,

nor gift of any,

greater worth.

 Than a mother’s love,

that’s given free,

to each of us,

for eternity,

and wavers not,

in life or death,

it never takes,

a final breath.

 

Jack Downing

May 2009

,

 

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
Gallery | This entry was posted in life, reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Mother’s Gift

  1. Beth Ann says:

    I LOVE this!! I really do!! Is it okay if I share it with my mom on Mother’s Day??? I am fortunate to have my mom still with me at 81. My daddy passed away 17 years ago and I think of him every single day. There is just something about growing up and realizing the sacrifices and things that our parents have done for us over the years. Thanks so much for sharing. Took me a day to get to your post but I am so glad I did. Blessings!

    • By all means, share. I have another poem, a lady at work asked me if I had anything in rememberanceof friends, who have passed. A half an hour later I did. She was pretty impressed, I might say. So if you see a poem called “Sarah’s Request”, you’ll know the origin. Have a fortuitous Friday, J

  2. There’s an interesting side note to the prelude. My mother died 40 years to the day, of my father’s passing. He died a very young man of 51 years, of liver an kidney disease.
    Have a safe day Zorro. (lol)
    J.

  3. adeeyoyo says:

    Thanks for this lovely poem, Jack. My mother passed on 10.07.2003 and I often wish I had shown my appreciation more!

    • I know Denise, my mom passed on May 7, 2009, forty years to the day of my dad’s passing. Coincidence??… I think not!! I miss her a lot, but mostly for selfish reasons, I think. If she was still here I could do the things I should have done for her when she was still with us. Does that make any sense? My conscience screams at me nowandthen and it is not pleasant! I think the greatest tribute to our mothers, is ourselves, and how we use the education that they gave us, asto what is important in life, and how we present ourselves to the world is a reflection on them. Thank you for your kind words as usual. Jack.

Leave a Reply

