The Center Road

Perhaps, one of the most uncomfortable, and precarious of all life’s situations, is when you find that you are caught or placed, in the middle of a misunderstanding between people, you like, care about, or love. And you find you are trying to travel upon, “The Center Road”.         

 Hurt me not,

my mind again,

I have no wasted,

time to spend.

 

On feelings pierced,

with no intent,

by perceptions arrows,

skyward sent.

 

I have wish not,

to be involved,

in that of which,

I can’t resolve.

 

Nor that of trite,

or petty pride,

I have no care,

to line a side.

 

But seldom does,

the center road,

ease the journey,

or the load.

 

For when the winding,

paths converge,

that traveler’s seen,

as more the scourge.

 

So from the heart,

I do implore,

hurt me not,

my mind no more.

 

Jack Downing

May 2009

 

 

 

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
Gallery | This entry was posted in life, reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Center Road

  1. Laurel says:

    So true! Thanks for visiting my blog and I’m thoroughly enjoying your poetry.

Leave a Reply

