A Sail to Paradise

   I would like,
to build a boat,
I’d pray to God,
that it would float,
then sail away,
to isle, remote,
where warm breezes,
 blow.
  
   Where the ocean turns,
to turquoise blue,
with houses colored,
in pastel hues,
and rain arrives,
as if on cue,
but, makes way, for the stars, 
to glow.
  
   Where the sand,
is fine and white,
and music entwines,
both day and night,
and smiles, real,
a most common sight,
that’s where I’d like,
to go.
  
   But alas,
I have no craft,
and barely know,
the fore,  from aft,
to dream this dream,
I must be daft,
if only wishing, could make it,
so.
  
   Then I’d set sail,
on the morning tide,
and no delay,
I would abide,
the sun and stars,
to be my guide,
then paradise,
I would know.
                                        
                                                Jack Downing
                                               Dec. 2010
                                                                                                                   

                        

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in ponderings, Words on Wanderings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

