It’s In The Mail

 

When I, see a mail truck,

I often wonder, what’s within,

a letter, from a loved one,

or, to the next of kin.

And, what reaction it will  cause,

maybe joy, or maybe sorrow,

perhaps a bill, will be inside,

for payment, of what we borrowed.

Or, could it be a package,

with something, seen only on TV,

the handling, and the shipping of,

costs more, than what it be?

But, it may be, a letter,

from a soldier, or sailor far away,

sending love, and wishes,

for a fine, and peaceful day.

Jack Downing

July 2009

But, please read my blog and buy stamps.

It’s good for my morale, and speaking of which, if you know someone in the military, regardless of where they are stationed, or a family friend knows someone who knows someone. Write and just say hi, a letter from the neighborhood, is a letter from America, and America is home.  44 cents goes a long way. 

 God Bless our troops.

Thanks, Jack

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in ponderings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s In The Mail

  1. cdnpearly says:

    Nice photo to go with the poem Jack! I like it!

    • ha, it took about 5 tries, and 4 of the same pic. I finally saw insert into,text, or whatever it says, and the rest is history. But today is a different day, and with me it’s ground hog day; start all over again. eventually it sinks in.. thank you for your nice and I’m sure, sincere, comments. jake.

Leave a Reply

