The Calling of the Pipes

 

Perhaps my life, was of another time,

for I feel the fife and drum,

and the pipes, they call me still,

as once, they may have done.

My spirit yearns, to muster,

upon, the village green,

and with my shot and musket,

I stand there, tall and lean.

With powder dry, and mouth as well,

I await, the village bell,

to warn us all, the coming,

of the wrath of hell.

But, then the bugler’s, Taps refrain,

brings me here, to now,

but Amazing Grace, on bagpipes played,

takes me back again, somehow.

And as I travel, back and forth,

if only in my mind,

I wonder often, to myself,

if I could, what would I find?

Would I be, the brave young hero,

marching to the fore,

or would I be, the cautious man,

and shy away from war?

I will never have the answer,

the question left in air,

yet, the pipes, still call to me,

as if to draw me there.

Jack Downing

June 2009

About poemsandponderings

Hearth and Health are wonderful things and if you're without either such sorrow that brings So I cannot express enough thanks to my Lord and to my family and friends for the support you afford! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Calling of the Pipes

  1. The Calling of the Pipes, is a personal favorite, being from New England, the revolutionary period of our nations history, has long been ingrained in my spirit.
    the fife and drum and bagpipes, have a home, within me somewhere. God Bless America.

    jack downing

Leave a Reply

