Me In A Nutshell

     Alright, so who is this guy named Jake, or is it Jack or was it JoJoReverend Jake or Emperor Tojo? Or maybe he/she is really someone who we haven’t even yet met. Relax my friends, after all, what’s in a name? A name doesn’t say who you are, only that by which you are hailed..So here, my wondering ones is a more descriptive look inside myself, yes here is:  

Me In A Nutshell

 I like whispers and slippers

I like cold beer and strippers,

yes, I like the good and the bad.

I like the wet and the wild

the spicy and mild,

 and I like to be happy, not sad.

I like many things

and the feelings they bring,

and all of the life I have had.

I’ve seen people and places

and all have left traces,

but no, not all of them glad.

But, now when it is done

I can say I had fun,

but I’m happiest, that I was a dad.

 

Jack Downing

Aug. 2012

     Thursday is Thor‘s day, make some thunder,

Jake. (Or any of the above, except maybe, Emperor Tojo)

 

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 8/23/12

 

About poemsandponderings

Now Spring has arrived and now I must decide, which clothes that I can still wear. But I haven't lost any weight so I guess it's my fate to rummage through my closet and swear.
This entry was posted in beer, Family, humor, life, men, mischievious, Songs and Dances, thoughts, women, Words on Wanderings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Me In A Nutshell

  1. belinda says:

    I enjoyed reading the way you described yourself in this poem. I love the paradox…

  2. Mary says:

    What the heck is a paradox? That was high school english and I’m sooo far removed! I’ll have to google it. That poem was so good that I read it to my family who cooed at the last line as did I. Nice job.

    • Why thank you so much Mary…I’m flattered by your and your family’s response. According to Webster’s New World Dictionary..Paradox: A statement that seems contradictory, but may be true in fact. Or. A statement that is self-contradictory, and hence false..

      I’m more confused now than when I thought I knew what it meant. LOL Anyway thank you for your thoughtful comments.. See you soon..

Leave a Reply

