Why I Write

Why I Write

I write what I feel

and I feel what I write,

inspired by sound

inspired by sight.

I think in the day

and do my dreamin’ at night.

Sometimes they’re dark

and sometimes they’re light.

Sometimes they are tearful

sometimes they are bright,

and once in a while

I write, just for spite.

 

Jack Downing

July 2012

 

 

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 8/16/12

About poemsandponderings

Now Spring has arrived and now I must decide, which clothes that I can still wear. But I haven't lost any weight so I guess it's my fate to rummage through my closet and swear.
This entry was posted in help, honesty, humor, joy and sorrow, poet, Sleep, song writer, thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Why I Write

  1. Beth Ann says:

    I enjoy every post,
    Not sure which the most,
    You always make me smile
    And think for awhile
    of how blessed we truly are
    to find friends from afar
    who read what we write
    and say “it’s alright!”

    • Oh, that was so sweet..I see a new facet to “It’s Just Life”…OMG…As I was typing It’s just Life…It came out It’s Just LICE…Yarr, harr, harr.. me hopes not. Freudian to be sure. Anyway, as I was saying, a new facet may have been born today..Rhymes of the Times by Beth Ann. But until then,

      My heart is so swelling with thanks
      so much, it’s in need of those Spanx
      But I can’t hold it back,
      ’cause, this I know for a fact,
      your NUMBER ONE in my ranks.

      • Beth Ann says:

        OH NO—look what I have started with all this blarney! :-) And this morning my head was itching so I was all paranoid that the lice had attacked….

  2. yearstricken says:

    My sentiments exactly.

  3. Sally says:

    I really liked this one…

    • Thank you Sal. I’m always surprised at what people say that they like, of course most people are polite and don’t tell me what they don’t..Though sometimes I wish they would.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

