Innocence Departs

     I have stated, in more than one instance, that there are many personalities involved in what I/we produce here, in fact here is what I have said about that topic, in Reflection #3;

I believe that I,

have more than one,

identity within.

For when I read,

the words I write,

I ask myselves again,

which of me,

will share the blame,

for that movement, of the pen?

…………………………………………………….

      And so here now, I give you a prime example of that theory.

Have a spectacular Sunday everyone,

Jake.

Innocence Departs

 JoJo wants to write today,

and I have no idea,

what I’m about to say.

My pen’s now moving,

in a way,

hinting JoJo is a girl.

So JoJo as a girl will write,

soft and tender,

smooth and light,

and soaring lofty,

as in flight,

as the pen begins to whirl.

Flowing words begin to form,

of springtime love,

so new and warm,

of golden days,

when love is born,

and innocence departs.

 *

Slowly fading, but fading still,

while wishing often,

for some magic pill,

to rekindle that fire,

that is the thrill,

when shared between two hearts.

For when the fire is tended, not,

the embers glow,

but, they burn not hot,

and the heat of love,

gone from the spot,

when innocence departs.

 ***

Jack Downing

Dec. 2011

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 8/5/12

About poemsandponderings

Now Spring has arrived and now I must decide, which clothes that I can still wear. But I haven't lost any weight so I guess it's my fate to rummage through my closet and swear.
This entry was posted in men, poet, reflections, Seasons, Spirits, thoughts, true love, wishing, women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Innocence Departs

  1. “….when innocence departs.” I think Vietnam was the marker for my generation. I know it made me re-access and no longer be able to excuse other shameful things of America’s past.

    • I think of the (first)*John F.Kennedy assasination as my coming of age so to speak..

      * His character has since been assasinated, mutilated, and periodically re-incarnated, under the guise of “information”..

      ________________________________

  2. ainabalagtas says:

    Love it! Say hi for me to Jojo 😊

  3. mchogarty@aol.com says:

    Jack,
    That should have been the prelude for the movie ‘Hope Springs’ starring Meryl Streep and Tommy Lee Jones. I’ve only seen the previews but your words nailed it.

  4. jhasmoments says:

    This is wonderful. I enjoyed this very much. :)

    • Why thank you so much, it is always nice to hear that someone appreciated what I have posted. Please remember your comments are always welcome here. (Even the not so positive ones.) Jake.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

