A Candle In The Church (A Message from Reverend Jake)

     My good friend Aina (no link available at this time) asked me to pass on her regards to Reverend Jake. I told her that the Right Reverend was on a “mission” to Alaska, courtesy of the generosity, of his congregation. Yes, he sailed out of Seattle on what he is referring to as his; “Cruise for Converts and Canonization,” on Saturday last, and he was not expected back for a few more days, at least. But I did suggest to Aina, that I  might try to put a call through to his “soul phone” to check on the progress, of the aforementioned “Cruise for Converts and Canonization.”  Well, after dialing his number *727-784-3428 or “Pass The Hat” if you will, I noticed he had a new ringtone, yessiree, the good ol’ bible-belt country favorite.. “everybody Wants To Go To Heaven” (…but nobody wants to go now) by Kenny Chesney. But, after numerous attempts, (at least two) I was unable to communicate with Reverend Jake personally at that time, though I did leave a message and a call back number, **487-255-2855 (or “Its All Bull”) in his inbox. I am sure it was because of the difference in the time zones between us, that caused the “failure to communicate” (With thanks to the writers of “Cool Hand Luke” for that line). What else could it have been? But hallelujah, hallelujah, the following day I received a call back from himself and he assured me everything was going swimmingly, (his choice of words, not mine) and he felt that his beatification would surely follow, what he hopes will be a very, very, long and enjoyable life’s mission.. I mentioned to him that the “enjoyable” part, appears to be “mission accomplished” already. To which he replied “There is much more ‘work’ to be done here”.  After a bit more banter he informed me that “Shuffleboard for Salvation” was about to begin on the ‘Poop Deck‘ and that he was the ‘chosen one’ needed to keep score and offer judgement on the finer points of the event..

     But before we ended our call, he asked me to pass on to Aina, and all of the faithful here at the “Church of Saint Cyber-Space” his best wishes for a spectacular Sunday. And then he left me with a few words for us to think about..

Jake.

*Not his real number

**Definitely not MY real number.

J.

 

A Candle In The Church

 Candles flicker in the apse,

lighted in memory, or hope,

are glowing more for the living,

than the dead, that they may cope.

Prayers for the sick or dying,

waft heaven bound from flame,

whisper soft for God to hear,

and “Blessed be His Name”.

 ***

 Jack Downing

Jan. 2012

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 7/29/12

About poemsandponderings

I stand alone to gaze upon my days and years gone by. I've laughed, I've cried, I've loved and loathed, but now, I can't remember why! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in blessings, bull, craft, God, humor, judgement, religion, seafarers, ships, Sunday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Candle In The Church (A Message from Reverend Jake)

  1. ainabalagtas says:

    I’ll miss you, Jake. Take care! And thank you for everything!

Leave a Reply

