Maturity And Me

     I’m a little late in posting this morning, I must still be in vacation mode. So I think I’ll just dip into the “Song Lyrics” category and give you a little taste of music to start your week off right..All together now..

Have a wonderful day, and week,

Jake.

MATURITY AND ME

 Now maturity, hasn’t got to me,

thus far, in my life,

but that doesn’t bother me,

so much, as it does my wife.

She says that I, should grow up,

and act, responsibly.

I know she’s right, but not tonight,

there’s a big game on TV.

 And the boys are coming over,

I know, the beer will flow,

it’s gonna be, past midnight,

when they all, get up and go.

No maturity, hasn’t got to me,

thus far, in my life,

but that doesn’t bother me,

so much, as it does, my wife.

I know, that in the morning,

my head is gonna ache,

not from, the beer or the hour,

but, from the grief I’ll have to take.

 Not that I won’t deserve it,

but, I’ve heard it all before,

like the time, I got her brother drunk,

and he passed out on the floor.

So, maturity, hasn’t got to me,

thus far, in my life,

but that doesn’t bother me,

so much, as it does my wife.

And I know, that she will bring up,

the time I bought that boat,

sitting in that fella’s yard,

I didn’t know, it wouldn’t float.

 No maturity, hasn’t got to me,

thus far, in my life,

but that doesn’t bother me,

so much, as it does my wife.

 Now, I know that she would love me,

to find a better job,

dressing with some dignity,

not looking, like a slob.

 But I like the coveralls I wear,

I wear them all the time,

they cover up, a lot of faults,

and they show off, my behind.

 So now maturity, hasn’t got to me,

thus far in my life,

but that doesn’t, bother me,

so much, as it does my wife.

 No, it really doesn’t bother me,

but it pisses off, my wife.

Yes, it doesn’t bother me,

but, it really pisses off my wife.

***

Jack Downing

                                                                         May 2009

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD

About poemsandponderings

I believe that good shall overcome though I may not live to see it for it dwells inside the best of men but tis the woman who must free it. ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in beer, humor, husbands and wives, judgement, life, old days, song writer, Songs and Dances, Sports, torment and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Maturity And Me

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Your poor wife…….this really would make a great song!

    • Maybe Chris can take you to the Dubai Aquarium for your next adventure..You should have seen the e-mail I sent you by the time you read this.. Be safe, and enjoy.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

