Fear Not The Journey

     I was thinking the other day, (not intentionally of course) of the Right Reverend Jake, and how he hasn’t dropped in for quite a while. So I decided to give him a call, on his “soul” phone, (that’s what he calls it) and I will never forget the first time I heard him say it. The conversation had gone something like this: “Hey, Reverend it’s good to hear from you again, I didn’t know you were back from your mission to New Orleans, ‘to walk amongst the heathens’ during Mardi Gras..” To which he replied, “I haven’t returned as yet, as the shameful happenings are continuing as we speak.” and I hear him say to someone…”young lady, how did you get all of those beads?” and after a short pause I heard him say, “whoa, I see.! Well here’s some more for you.” It was then, or shortly thereafter he returned to the conversation that WE were having, and he said, “where were we?” To which I replied “we were discussing the fact that you are not back from your trip and yet you are phoning me, are you in a phone booth?” “Huh, no! Have you tried finding a phone booth recently? It’s practically impossible.” And then he hit me with it…”No son, I am calling you from my “soul” phone that I was encouraged to purchase by my ministry.” “Oh,” said I, “that was very   considerate of them to buy you a cell phone, so you may keep in touch with them during your frequent travels.”  “Cell phone?” He practically sneered the words. “Son” he said, “a man of my stature and position in the community of the Lord does not, cannot, carry a mere “cell” phone, no sir! I was graciously provided with the AT&T, 4G, Ltd, USC, OMG..’SOUL PHONE’!  And at the nearly miraculous price of only $199.99 per month, plus unlimited free texting on Sunday mornings, between 2 and 6 am.. They threw that in, as I am a man of the cloth.”

     And that my friends was my introduction to the “soul” phone. Well now, as I was saying, I was thinking of the Right Reverend Jake and pondering what his thoughts might be on this fine July Sunday morning, and that’s when my “mere cell phone” indicated an incoming text message, (which is going to cost me a buck, thanks reverend)and lo and behold it was from the Right Reverend himself, and this is what it said…

FEAR NOT THE JOURNEY

 Descend, into the darkness, vast,

beyond, the mind’s constraint,

to find the answers,

of questions asked,

before, the preached restraint.

 *

Open portals, to the wind, aloft,

and hear, the whisper, bare,

the answers sought,

and in manner soft,

revealed, for all to share.

*

For the loudest din, is silence,

heard, by the lonely soul,

who abandons all,

the laws of science,

to attain, the greater goal.

*

 Then the journey, homeward on,

will wander, far and near,

reined not, by chains,

of history gone,

but solely, your own fear.

***

     Have a peaceful and fulfilling Sunday everyone.

Yours truly,

 The Right Reverend Jake, pastor.

 “The Church of  Saint Cyberspace”

   Jack Downing

Sept. 2010

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 7/8/12

About poemsandponderings

I believe that good shall overcome though I may not live to see it for it dwells inside the best of men but tis the woman who must free it. ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in bull, God, humor, men, mischievious, peace, Songs and Dances, soul, Sunday, women and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fear Not The Journey

  1. Jack I really like this poem. Would like to post it on my blog. Please consider joining in my Wednesday guest posts for poets and artists only. I would need pic of yourself, brief bio, and copy of poem. Please send each item as jpeg if possible. I would post near end of August. Check out May and June Wednesday posts to see what I am talking about. Look forward to your participation.

    • You know Carl, I don’t take a very good picture anymore,(not that I really ever did) so I am camera shy.. and as far as jpeg is concerned, I thought she was a pirate’s wench with one leg..I will give some consideration to the photo and bio, and you certainly have my permission to post this poem on your blog..
      Best wished my friend.

Leave a Reply

