The Mountain

     This is another new poem, and it is spiritual in nature. I really like the way it came together and I hope that you will too.

Google Search

The Mountain

I stood atop the mountain

and I looked God in the eye.

And I said, “Oh Lord, forgive me

on this, the day I die.”

*

He just smiled and took my hand,

and sent me on my way.

“It’s not your time to be here”

is what I heard Him say.

*

He said, “listen to your heart

and hear your brother’s cry.

You’ve got some time ahead of you,

give life, another try.”

*

When I awoke, I felt great peace,

as if my soul was new.

But, I stood atop that mountain,

and that, I swear is true!

***

Jack Downing

June 2012

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 6/25/12

About poemsandponderings

I believe that good shall overcome though I may not live to see it for it dwells inside the best of men but tis the woman who must free it. ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in God, judgement, Kingdom, life, mortal coil, mountains, no cause to weep, peace, soul, truth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Mountain

  1. Beth Ann says:

    I love it!! A perfect read to start my week!! Thanks!

  2. Nae's Nest says:

    I love the way it came out. I am on the mountain every day and on my knees. Very nice, beautiful.

  3. simply stunning, and very inspiring! = )

Leave a Reply

