HAPPY BIRTHDAY

     I don’t believe it….Of all the subjects that I have written poems about, there aren’t any about birthdays..Go figure! Well, today June 23rd just happens to be my birthday. So I will attempt to write one on the fly.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME

HAPPY BIRTHDAY

Today marks the day

that I was born,

so break out the drums

and toot on your horns.

Get the cake ready,

with a little ice cream,

and I’ll blow out the candles,

and think of a dream.

I’ll wish that you all,

could be here with me,

to help with those candles,

as I’m old now you see.

The Fire Department,

has been placed on alert,

and I pray from those flames,

that no one gets hurt!

¡¡¡¡

     Thank you all so much for tagging along, on the odyssey with me! 

~Jake~

 

  

About poemsandponderings

I believe that good shall overcome though I may not live to see it for it dwells inside the best of men but tis the woman who must free it. ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Elders, Firefighter, fleeting time, history, humor, lifetime, old days, poet, Songs and Dances, wishing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to HAPPY BIRTHDAY

  1. Happy Birthday, Jake! I had this day on my calendar since you mentioned it awhile back. I was going to surprise you with remembering! You ruined the surprise ;) but have a good one anyway! :) (Do you really have that many candles on your cake that you have to alert the fire department?)

    • There are soooo many, I had to get a “permit to burn”. And”Smokey theBear” is howling and growling and sniffing the air..And all the witches intownsuddenly went on vacation.. Though, I am sorry, that I ruined the surprise you had planned, my mostsincere and heartfelt thanks go out to you…Please take care of yourself and have a wonderful day. Jake.

      ________________________________

  2. mchogarty@aol.com says:

    Happy, happy birthday baby…..I don’t know how to add the G-cleft and sharps to indicate a song!
    Happy birthday, Jack, and many more. Mary

    • Yeah, I’ve always had difficulty finding that g-spot, oops I mean thatg-clef thing myself..But thanks Mary for the song and the well wishes..I’ll see you soon..

      ________________________________

  3. Michael says:

    Happy Birthday and many happy returns of the day Jake. Stay young my friend !!!

    • I thought it was a commercial for Dos Ekkes beer, and you were going to say,,,”Stay thirsty my friend” lol. But seriously Michael, thank you so much for your good wishes.The finest present for me today is to have all of my friends stay healthy and safe, and you are most assuredly high on that list.. Jake.

      ________________________________

  4. soumyav says:

    wish you many many happy returns of the day!

  5. Happy Birthday, Mr. Downing! I wish you all the best! Have fun and enjoy your day! And Im sending Alvin and the rest of the gang to serenade you happy birthday, my friend! 😊

  6. loopyloo305 says:

    Happy Birthday and may God bless you this day and every day!

  7. Beth Ann says:

    Finally catching up on reading my blogs —–maybe will not make it to all of them but this one deserved a comment!! Hope the birthday was fabulous and that the year brings you much happiness, my friend!

Leave a Reply

