Mirrors Of The Soul

     Here now is a new poem, for the romantics out there. Not typical of my works, but I would say it is something that the ladies especially, might enjoy. I would appreciate some/any,  feedback from those of you who are reluctant to comment. If you read it, take a second or two to let me know what you think about my stuff, good or bad! I do respect your opinions when you chance to share them with me.

     Please have a fun-filled Friday,

Jake.

Google Search Result

Mirrors Of The Soul

She looked to find

only honesty.

She hoped to see it

in his eyes.

She longed to feel

sincerity,

she’d had enough

of lies.

*

 Would this be him,

the shy one?

Still waters” they say

run deep.”

Or would he

be also shallow,

and cause her more

to weep?

*

 But, she’d not judge

a forehand,

nor compare

to what’s behind.

She’d search his eyes

for answers.

And then his soul,

she’d find.

***

 Jack Downing

June 2012

Copyright©Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 6/22/12

About poemsandponderings

I stand alone to gaze upon my days and years gone by. I've laughed, I've cried, I've loved and loathed, but now, I can't remember why! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in bull, chivalry, honesty, judgement, life, men, poet, soul, tears, women and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Mirrors Of The Soul

  1. jhasmoments says:

    Mirrors of the soul…. great title amazing write.

    • Thank you so much.. I appreciate that. That is an old saying..”The eyes are the mirror of the soul” and in this case “she” was looking for something beyond thefacade of the “man”. I am happy that you enjoyed it and took the time to comment.

      ________________________________

  2. jhasmoments says:

    You’re welcome. I try to always comment and if I do not I make sure to let people know I visited by liking :) :) By the way… It is a saying I have heard…. :) :) in many ways. I really enjoyed reading this piece.

  3. jpotblogg says:

    Firstly,your works never fail to inspire me and keep me motivated. As I read this post today, I reminisce about the first time I met my hubby. I now have an idea of what to write. Thank you for this Jake. :-)

    • Thank you so much for those kind words, I am so happy that you like what you find here.. I am also very glad that I could help you with your newest idea..Write on..Write on! lol

      ________________________________

  4. mchogarty@aol.com says:

    I am amazed at the way you right from a woman’s perspective or is it a man’s? Good job once again.

    • I’m not sure myself… There are many of us writinghere at poemsandponderings, in fact I don’t think I’ve met the wholestaff yet.. And that scares the hell out of me…lol

      ________________________________

  5. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful! And human. “Still waters run deep”, so true. The eyes have it; they are the windows to the soul. What an amazing poem. Really touching and deep. Thanks for writing and sharing it. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

