My Daddy Was A Wise Man

     Today is Friday, (I think) and in honor of “Father’s Day” I am posting another of my “Songs.”  This one however, is of a more serious nature. It is written in my preferred ‘country style’ genre and it reflects some true memories of my dad. Now except for the fact that I have a daughter, (beautiful, intelligent, wise beyond her years, vivacious, charming, I could go on and on) and not two boys as is written in the song,(for aesthetic purposes) this is typical of what he might say to me and my brothers. I only wish that I would have had the foresight to know just how much truth was in his words and the effect they would have on me and my development as a person. I wish I had not given him as much grief and trouble as I did, and a lot more respect and admiration.

     To all of the fathers out there; HAPPY FATHER’S DAY, and to their sons and daughters, cherish their time, and heed their words.

     See you on Monday, (Haiku day)

Jake.

Ps. Happy Birthday John E. Gordon, (6/15/47) wherever you are, I pray all is well with you and yours…

MY DADDY WAS A WISE MAN

 I remember my daddy sayin’,

you should be outside, and playin’,

not sittin’ around the house,

all afternoon.

*

 There is gonna come a day,

when you won’t have, the time to play,

and believe me son, that time,

is comin’ soon.

*

 Yeah, I’m afraid you’re gonna find,

not too much farther, down the line,

that life won’t leave you,

with much time for fun.

*

 So grab your glove, and baseball bat,

find your friends, and remember that,

the times are best, when you’re out,

in the sun.

*

 Or, get your fishin’ pole and bike,

and find a fishin’ hole you like,

where you and your pals,

can catch, a fish or two.

*

 ‘Cause there won’t be much time, for fishin’,

only time for dreams and wishin’,

and you grow up, and work,

is all you do.

*

 So, get out and enjoy, the day,

they are fleeting, and this I’ll say,

the sun don’t shine so bright,

when the bills are due.

*

 Now, that was quite awhile ago,

my daddy’s gone, but this I know,

he was the smartest man,

I ever knew.

*

 I got married and had two boys,

I worked two jobs, to buy them toys,

that are stacked up in the attic,

to the peak.

*

 They’re now away at college,

but, they’ll never have the knowledge,

that I got when I listened,

to my, daddy speak.

*

 Yes, I remember those happy times,

with bicycles, and fishin’ lines,

and baseball gloves and caps,

of my favorite team.

*

 It was my daddy’s words to me,

that provided, all these memories,

yes, my daddy was a wise man,

it would seem.

*

 Yes, my daddy was a wise man,

it would seem.

He was, the wisest man,

 I’ve ever seen.

***

                                                             Jack Downing                                                                                     

                                                                           July 2009

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 6/15/12 

About poemsandponderings

The voice of the people must never be silent but use the ballot not the bullet and be thoughtful, not violent. ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in children, education, Family, history, life, old days, song writer, Songs and Dances, thoughts, truth and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Daddy Was A Wise Man

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Love it!!! Great tribute and I have that country music twanging in my head now….

  2. mchogarty@aol.com says:

    I agree with Beth Ann…I wonder if we have the same twaing in the brain! I’d like to forward the words to Alan Jackson, he’ll do it justice he also has daughters.

    Who is John E Gordon? I read his Bio and what’s your connection to him?

    • The John E. Gordon I know is not the same one as the bio depicts, I didn’t even see that I had tagged it in the posting. My John E. Gordon, was my first bff if you will, way back in the dark ages. We grew up on Fidelis Way in Brighton before I moved to Framingham and he and his family moved to West Roxbury or Roslindale.. The last time I saw him was in 1972/73 when we got together a couple of times. I just happened to remember his birthday as I posted this. I do apologize for any misconception. See you in awhile.

      ________________________________

    • Okay, if you wish to forward it to Alan Jackson, please don’t forget to add the copyright..lol
      I responded via e-mail to you as to my friend Johnny Gordon. Who is not “Tailhook Johnny” btw.

Leave a Reply

