A Woman Named Flo

     THE BLUES, who doesn’t like to listen to the blues now and then? Ba ba ba baboom, ba boom, ba boom. Ba ba ba baboom, ba boom, ba boom. Yeah now you got it, that rhythm, that beat, that head noddin’,  foot tappin’, eye closin’ beat. Well that’s what I had in mind for the “song” that I present to you today…What I’m hoping for is that someone will read one of these masterpieces that I put out for your reading pleasure, and come forward with a large offer for one of these gems of musical genius. (Truthfully, I’m saving the serious ones for posterity; I’m afraid) Anyhow, the following is the typical ‘the woman done me wrong and now it’s payback time’ blues song.

     I hope you like it, have a wonderful Wednesday Thursday everyone,

Jake.

Google Search Result

A WOMAN NAMED FLO

 Well, my woman she left me,

a short time ago.

Yeah, that woman she left me,

a short time ago.

*

 Now, her real name is Florence,

but she calls herself Flo.

Yeah, her real name is Florence,

but she calls herself Flo.

*

 Oh, she left with my best friend,

my dog and my dough.

Yeah, she left with my best friend,

my old dog and my dough.

*

 So, now she don’t want me,

she don’t want me no mo’.

No, now she don’t want me,

don’t want me no mo’.

*

 ‘Cause there’s nothin’ left now,

to go with the Flo.

No, there ain’t nothin’ left now,

to go with the Flo.

*

 Now I can’t help but wonder,

just what I did wrong.

Yes, I can’t help but wonder,

just what I did wrong.

*

 You know, all that she left me,

was the words, to this song.

That’s all that she left me,

the words to this song.

*

 But she made a mistake now,

when she walked out the door.

Yeah, one big mistake now,

when she walked out the door.

*

 ‘Cause she never did know now,

about my Colt forty-four.

No, she never did know now,

about that Colt forty-four.

*

 Now, I’m gonna go find her,

you wait and see.

Yeah, I’m gonna go find her,

just wait and see.

*

 I’m gonna let Mr. Colt here,

do my talkin’ for me.

Yeah, old Mr. Colt here,

will do my talkin’, for me.

*

 And now, when it’s over,

I won’t care where I go.

Yeah, when it is over,

I won’t care, where I go.

*

 ‘Cause wherever they send me,

there’ll be no woman, named Flo.

Unless it’s to Hades,

there’ll be no woman, named Flo.

*

 No woman, named Flo,

there’ll be no woman, named Flo.

Unless it’s to Hades,

there’ll be, no woman named Flo.

***

Jack Downing

                                                                         Feb. 2009

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 6/14/12

About poemsandponderings

The voice of the people must never be silent but use the ballot not the bullet and be thoughtful, not violent. ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Americana, Animals, dog, humor, Music, poet, song writer, Songs and Dances, The Commandments, women and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Woman Named Flo

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Glad my name isn’t Flo!!!

  2. Gettin’ left is freedom

Leave a Reply

