A Lost Boy Looks Back

     I didn’t intend to post this poem today, as it is Saturday and we all know that traditionally that it is one of the slow blog readership days. I was going to put up a few of the “Reflections/Interjections/Recollections” to start the weekend off,  (a cop-out) and let it go at that. When I picked out this particular “Reflection” it reminded me of a poem that I finished a couple of weeks ago. So, slow readership Saturday or not, here it comes. In order to appreciate this poem at all, I believe that you should have read, seen, or at least heard of “Peter Pan” written by J.M. Barrie, a Scottish novelist and playwrite, in 1904. It was a yearly broadcast on TV when I was growing up and I looked forward to it, for what seemed to be weeks ahead of time. But, I do think that most of you/us have some knowledge of the premise of Peter Pan and the Lost Boys,( I don’t want to grow up, I don’t want to go to school) living in Never-Never Land. (Along with, of course Tinkerbelle and Captain Hook, et al.) 

     With that in mind, please enjoy both of the offerings, this Saturday morning,

Jake. 

    

The days of our youth,

are as sweet as vermouth.

 But, unlike the wine,

we bitter with time.

 From too much exposure,

to truth.

***

Google Search Result

A Lost Boy Looks Back

I spent a time of my life

with the lost boys.

Yeah, the boys and “Pan

and me.

Thinking “Never Never Land

to be forever and ever land,

and we’d all stay young

and free.

*

Where pirates and indians

were a commonplace sight,

along with “Tinkerbelle” fairies

and such.

Where fantasy be reality

and reality mere fantasy,

and we would travel

on ‘fairy dust’.

*

With no thought to a mom or a dad,

as orphans we were, of our choosing.

Adventures awaited us daily,

and off we would go at our will.

But, as sure as a croc

can swallow a clock,

they’d soon take us on over

the hill.

*

I woke up one morning

with bills to be paid,

and a wife and a child

to feed.

Where did it all go,

when life was just so,

and I had only my wants

but no needs?

*

When work had no place

on my schedule at all.

And everything, seemed

to be free.

If I could return to those days

and not have my now ways,

would I, any happier,

be?

*

If I could have back my youth

and those carefree old times,

I wonder if I’d be willing,

to trade.

For the now is fulfilling

though maybe less thrilling.

So to memory, the “Lost Boys,”

will now fade.

***

Jack Downing

May 2012

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 6/9/12

About poemsandponderings

I stand alone to gaze upon my days and years gone by. I've laughed, I've cried, I've loved and loathed, but now, I can't remember why! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Animals, children, fleeting time, history, Indian Affairs, Magic line, mischievious, old days, seafarers, Spirits and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Lost Boy Looks Back

  1. soumyav says:

    reminder of the childhood days,living our lives with the books and the heroes in their way..

  2. Beth Ann says:

    I sometimes miss the carefree days of youth, too, but the benefits of ‘growing up” have outweighed those youthful escapades lately. Guess I have learned to be happy where I am at. I always have the memories!

  3. Would care to share my Peter Pan poem. Just google carldagostino just one wish or carldagostino peter pan. It was my first published poem and made page 1 of the anthology. Regards.

  4. I think… the days of my now are not less thrilling. Between now..and then was not so nice I would have given anything to go back. I don’t think I can grow up .. not that I have tried so hard.. no wait, I have. I’m a lost girl with a gaggle of merry munchkins… in the youth of my old age. Or something. I loved both of these. :-) Lizzie

    • And that is what the poem is all about. So many people I talk to say, that while being young is great and sometimes enviable, most would not want to do it over again. It would seem that no matter how “tough” life appears to us sometimes, we wouldn’t want to start over. Best wishes to you and your “merry munchkin band”
      Jake..

Leave a Reply

