My Worldly Goods

     Unfortunately, in life and in death, there are some things that seem unimaginable, until they happen and then in retrospect we think “I should have known” but still you will wonder. “How can some people put personal greed ahead of a feeling of personal loss?” What is now so prevalent in our society is that before the “final arrangements” are even made, other ‘arrangements’ are being calculated. This poem is about the ME people, we all know them or will one day. Greed can be vicious, and can break families apart. Be prepared!

     I don’t know why I picked this poem for today, I think maybe because I liked the way it came out, regardless of the subject.

     If I haven’t totally brought you all down, have a wonderful and stress-free Sunday.

Jake.

Google Search Result

My Worldly Goods

 We mourned for those, who’ve passed,

on to their rest, at last,

but, what leaves us most aghast,

is greed’s arrival, quite as fast,

as the shadows on the grave.

When before tears shed, shall dry,

and the graver, bid goodbye,

there appears the wanting eye,

which visions, my, my, my,

and not one thread, be saved.

*

 Before, a blade of grass be found,

upon, the funeral mound,

will come a cold, and selfish sound,

claiming, gram and pound,

and not one thing, be waived.

And would he, who lies in ground,

be not turning round?

For the greed, it has no bounds,

the owners soul, it hounds,

fed once, the more it craves.

***

 Jack Downing

Dec. 2011

Google Search Result

Copyright©Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 6/3/12

   

About poemsandponderings

I believe that good shall overcome though I may not live to see it for it dwells inside the best of men but tis the woman who must free it. ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in demise, Family, God, humor, land of the free, life, men, poet, wealth and worth, women and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Worldly Goods

  1. Beth Ann says:

    First of all—how can you hate onions??? And I thought I knew you! You didn’t bring me down today at all—-I know how true this poem is in some cases. Thank goodness in ours this past year it wasn’t. Everyone played nice!!! :-)

    • Retort! How can you hate country music?? As far as the poem is concerned you are indeed fortunate, some of the smallest of acts bring about the largest of schisms. I just don’t understand it. I wasn’t raised that way and I pity those who have such needful ways. To me it shows a lack of love, perceived or otherwise, that requiresmaterial thingsto fill that void. So says Dr. Jake, pst, phb, ppd, mic, key, nba mlb. Couches available at off season rates. Call now..

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

