A First Impression & assorted tidbits

     A “Lazy Mind” day, no inspiration, no drive, no motivation. So into my bag of tricks I go, for a little bit of mishmash, meshugas and miscellaneous musings.

     At this time I would also like to acknowledge quite a few new arrivals here to P&P, thank you all for joining in the experience with me. I hope that all of my readers will find something here, at one time or another, that they “like” enough to comment on. While I am at it, thank you to all who faithfully follow and click the “like” button on what you read here, it really makes my day.

     After putting in the third tidbit, I thought of a poem that I recently wrote concerning “first impressions.” A little background on the poem. I had been conversing with Aina over at Aina’sBlog.wordpress.com when she happened to say that when she started reading poemsandponderings.wordpress.com, that she thought I was a “grouch.” That was the inspiration for the poem. However everything else in the poem is just blather and balderdash. I would also like to say that it, in no way, reflects any true feelings that I had toward the comment of my being, well you know, “a grouch.”  So hypothetically, If I were a grou.. grumpy then perhaps, I would respond thusly..lol

     In closing, I understand that my friend Aina is not feeling well at the moment and I would like to send to her my sincerest wishes for a speedy recovery. Get well soon, Aina.

    Please enjoy,

Jake.

Google search result

When tomorrow comes another day,

and better then, for me I pray.

I’ll curse the luck I had today,

but rise again, to go my way.

***

If you’re fishing,

for a compliment,

make sure,

you have allure.

***

The first impression,

is the one that lasts.

But, the last impression,

can change that fast.

***

~Jack Downing~

A First Impression

Someone suggested today

their first impression

this way;

I truly thought you,

a grouch.”

:(

To which I took this stand;

Your impression

be damned,

I’m as sweet as they come

all will vouch.

:)

But, if after all

you persist

with that call,

then you can use your fat ass

as a pouch.

( ! )

Jack Downing

May 2012

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD6/1/12

About poemsandponderings

I stand alone to gaze upon my days and years gone by. I've laughed, I've cried, I've loved and loathed, but now, I can't remember why! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in good luck, humor, interjections, life, men, mischievious, poet, Sleep, wishing, women and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A First Impression & assorted tidbits

  1. Beth Ann says:

    What???? That did not end the way I thought it would!! :-) I can just see you in a trash can all green and grungy looking!!! Happy Friday, my friend!! And best wishes to Aina to get to feeling better soon.

Leave a Reply

