Snuggles The Travelling Bear

     I would first like to thank all fo you who offered such meaningful comments on the Memorial Day series. As any blogger will tell you, comments are like pay for your time, effort and your work. Oh, and we all would like to get “paid” more, so please keep the comments coming. I do answer all of them, either by e-mail or through the blog’s comments section here at WordPress.

     Well we’ve had a very serious ten or so days, so let’s lighten it up a little today. The following story is true, for the most part. Names have not been changed to protect the innocent. Snuggles is my daughter’s teddy bear, he has been around for almost 30 years, that’s like 110 in teddy bear years, he is old and fragile, but he still has a special place up in our family tree. I once had to drive 20 miles round trip at 11:00 pm, because we forgot him at my sister’s house and heaven forbid she could go to sleep without him, which of course she did, before I returned with the little fur-ball. I was informed yesterday that he did not go on the honeymoon…(I seem to remember seeing him before the ceremony though.)

     Please enjoy,

Jake.

Google Search Result

Snuggles The Travelling Bear

 Fluffy and soft

more tan than brown,

he travelled with us

everywhere.

No matter how long or short,

the trip it would happen to be,

we’d not move,

unless he was there.

He was the guest of honor

when bedtime approached,

as protection against

any scare.

But the years took their toll,

he developed some holes

all chocked up to just

wear and tear.

So, he was semi-retired

and enjoying the time,

content to still be

a pair.

Then that stranger came in

and threatened his place,

in her heart and her life,

so unfair.

But, not so easily dropped

he persisted on,

and still every night

he was there.

And when the honeymoon came

he went along for the ride,

’cause he is Snuggles,

the travelling bear.

***

 Jack Downing

May 2012

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 5/29/12

About poemsandponderings

The voice of the people must never be silent but use the ballot not the bullet and be thoughtful, not violent. ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Animals, children, Family, fleeting time, history, humor, life, old days, Rachel's wedding, Sleep and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Snuggles The Travelling Bear

  1. Mother took my bunny rabbit away when I was 4 and my teddy bear when I was 7. No wonder I was an alcoholic by 8.

  2. Beth Ann says:

    I love it!!!! I still have my childhood bear that I got when i was about 3, I think. He was a twin to my brother’s bear and they were named Fuzzy and Wuzzy. Mine is a panda and Mark’s is a brown bear ……I need to do a post about them sometime……not sure if Mark has Fuzzy or if he is still at my mom”s…they need to be reunited!

  3. Marianne says:

    Hello Snuggles, I’m Edward the Travelling Bear!

    Do you have your own blog too?

    • Hello Edward, nice to meet you. When you are not travelling, where is your den? Mine is in Massachusetts, USA.. Your new friend, Snuggles, (The travelling bear)

      ________________________________

      • Marianne says:

        When I´m not travelling, I hang out in Andalucía, southern Spain :)

      • Ah, Edward you are one lucky bear..I know the area well, or at least I did back in the day. I was stationed in Rota, for two years and loved every minute of it.. I particularly remember Torremolinos and Malaga as incredibly beautiful..Que suerte te eres, mi orso pequeno. (My spanish is not just rusty, it is rotten.)

        ________________________________

    • No, I drop by and visit the old stupid guy once in awhile. How about you?

Leave a Reply

