Just An Old Fart Now

Not so long ago,

I said “whatta ya know,

I’m aging pretty well.”

Then came that day,

I heard the mirror say,

“old man, you look like hell.”

     And that’s the truth…So it would now appear that I’m…

Just An Old Fart Now

 I remember when

I had no fear to jump

and I didn’t bruise

at the slightest bump

and I wasn’t mistaken

for a lump.

On the couch

or in the bed.

~

 When I could move

without a pain

and I didn’t ache

every time it rained

and it was kind of cool

to be called insane.

with no thought of old age

in my head.

~

 I thought I’d always

be young and strong

and through this life

I’d cruise along

But I don’t know where

that plan went wrong.

And left the old fart

here instead.

~~~

 Jack Downing

May 2012

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 5/14/12

About poemsandponderings

Now Spring has arrived and now I must decide, which clothes that I can still wear. But I haven't lost any weight so I guess it's my fate to rummage through my closet and swear.
This entry was posted in Elders, history, humor, joy and sorrow, life, Life's Journey, Magic line, men, old days, truth and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Just An Old Fart Now

  1. Jan Delaney says:

    Seems like that was written for me too, Jake!

    • Not you. I saw that picture of the Delaney girl’s day out a while back.. You look great..Thanks for commenting and following along Jan..
      This was bit of premature publication.. It was supposed to be Monday’s post and I hit the wrong button.(But,I’ve made a life out of pushing the wrong buttons though) lol.

  2. Beth Ann says:

    Are you living inside my body now or what????? Monday moanings as I crawled out of bed!!!

  3. Pingback: FART(Y) PEOPLE « MY LIFE THROUGH MY LINES

Leave a Reply

