HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY

     I know that all of the mothers are going to be very busy today, being the well-deserved center of attention. So here’s to you moms, and to all of your families a small bit of advice..

Look at your mother,

see her face clear,

put both arms around her,

and hold her so near.

Then thank her for everything,

from the heart, with good cheer,

and then someday you’ll remember,

all that love, that was here.

                       ***

     When my mother passed away back in 2009, this poem was written as a tribute to her. If only I had realized earlier in my life that I had the ability to put my feelings down in writing, perhaps she could have read it herself and realized just how much of an influence that she, (and my dad) had on my sister and brothers, who miss her so very much, especially today.

     I have posted this before, a few times, but to the newcomers to poemsandponderings,(as well as the grizzled veterans) I hope you enjoy it.

     Again, I wish all of you a happy, safe and loving, mother’s day.

Jake.

Google Search Result

   

A Mother’s Gift

 You filled a space,

no other could,

you taught me always,

think the good,

of those I meet,

along the way,

and sunrise brings,

a whole new day.

Dwell not upon,

a hurt or slight,

and let the heart decided,

the wrong or right,

of what I do,

or what is done,

then let it go,

with the setting sun.

But, of all the lessons,

I have learned,

there’s, but one upon,

my soul’s been burned,

there is no stronger,

force on earth,

nor gift, of any,

greater worth.

Than a mother’s love,

that’s given free,

to each of us,

for eternity,

and wavers not,

in life or death,

it never takes,

a final breath.

***

 Jack Downing

May 2009

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 5/13/12

About poemsandponderings

I stand alone to gaze upon my days and years gone by. I've laughed, I've cried, I've loved and loathed, but now, I can't remember why! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in children, demise, Family, fleeting time, God, Irish descent, life, poet, true love, women and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY

  1. mchogarty@aol.com says:

    Thanks again, Jack…fabulous poem!

  2. Pingback: Quote: A mother is the only person… « Tomorrow's future…

  3. Beth Ann says:

    Your mama raised a good one!!! Thank you for sharing your gift with the rest of us!!!

Leave a Reply

