Seven Unturned Stones

     I don’t really know just how to introduce this poem, some of it is based on  personal experience, and some of it is purely fictional. The end result however, is a look at life and how the “important” and/or critical decisions that we are given to make, (I chose twenty, because it sounded reasonable to me) affect our lives on a day-to-day basis. That is, until we begin to run out of expected time (get older) and reflect on those decisions and what we could have done differently, or not. And what we can do, to sort of make up for some of the wrong ones..

     Now that I have you thoroughly confused, have a thoroughly good Thursday.

Jake.

SEVEN UNTURNED STONES

 I have spent, every dollar,

that I’ve earned.

True love, and friendship,

I have spurned.

But, for all of those bridges,

I have burned,

I have seven, more stones,

left unturned.

*

 I am told, we all start,

with twenty stones.

And, how they’re used,

the choice, is ours alone.

We can turn them anytime,

for things, both cruel and kind.

But, once they’re gone,

we return, to dust and bone.

*

 The stones are decisions,

that we make.

The crossroads, of life,

that we take.

But, in the truth it lies,

that, very few, are wise.

And the chosen road,

is often, a mistake.

*

 I know, I have squandered,

many stones.

On things, that I have,

wished to own.

And some, on getaways,

to what I thought, were better days.

Leaving, love behind,

and, all alone.

*

 Yes, I have spent every dollar,

that I’ve earned.

True love, and friendship,

I have spurned.

And, for all, of those bridges,

I have burned.

I have only, seven stones,

left unturned.

***

Jack Downing

                                                                           Oct. 2010

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 5/3/12

About poemsandponderings

The voice of the people must never be silent but use the ballot not the bullet and be thoughtful, not violent. ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Elders, fleeting time, humor, inner satisfaction, joy and sorrow, life, lifetime, old days, truth, wealth and worth and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Seven Unturned Stones

  1. sheilabmarie says:

    Seven choices can go a long way.
    There are no mistakes- Only lessons in disguise.

  2. Jake, I wish I can ask what are those seven stones, as they intrigue me. Anyways, that’s profound as always. But I also wanna thank u for keeping up with me. I appreciate all the kinds words, more than u ever know.

    • The WordPress support group at your service.. That’s what friends do.. Have a Freakin’ Fabulous Friday..Treat yourself welltoday, you deserve it.. ________________________________

  3. Kind words, sorry.

  4. Your poetry never disappoints. I was pondering earlier today whether a decision I made years ago was the right one and your poem helped clarify in my mind that even though it SEEMS like I didn’t choose better, that what I chose was RIGHT for who I am . Does this make sense? Anyways, great poem :)

    • It makesrealsense, after allour choices in life are always personal, but not always perfect. Sometimes we just have to live with them and hope that you make the right ones more often than the wrong..In a way it’s like gambling, if you are right 51% of the time.. You’re a winner..Ha, if that makes any sense!!

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

