Adios

      Okay, so I’ve been told that my posts have been on the dark side lately, well this should put an end to that theory. From out of the song lyric library comes “Adios” a not so typical country type song. It is intended to be sung by a WOMAN, and is written from that point of view.. You can make up your own little tune to it if you like. Remember to write down the title and the name of the “lyricist” (see below) so when it hits the charts you can say, “hey I know that song and the guy who wrote it”!!!

     Ps. If you will note it was written in February of this year, just so you know I still got IT!!!  And again, please remember it is a woman telling the story..

Adios

 I sure would have missed you,

if I knew you were gone.

I would’ve looked all around,

from mornin’ til dawn.

I’d have called everybody,

that I didn’t know,

to find out just where,

that you didn’t go.

*

‘Cause you fill a big space,

in my little life,

and who’d know you better,

than your own lovin’ wife?

So, I’ll give her a call,

in a day or two,

to see if it’s she,

that’s been seein’ to you.

*

 Now I remember a time,

you said you needed your space.

Now I only wish,

I could picture your face.

I do vaguely recall,

a scraggly mustache,

and I seem to remember,

some kind of a rash.

*

 But now, all that is cleared up,

so honey please come on back,

and you can come in the front door,

as a matter of fact.

But, just send me a photo,

before that you do,

so when you come on home,

I’ll know that it’s you.

*

 ‘Cause I surely have missed you,

now I know, that you’ve gone,

and I’ve looked all over,

from mornin’ to dawn.

And I’ve called everybody,

that I didn’t know,

to find out just where,

that you didn’t go.

***

 Jack Downing

Feb. 2012

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 4/26/12

About poemsandponderings

The voice of the people must never be silent but use the ballot not the bullet and be thoughtful, not violent. ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Americana, Dixie, humor, men, Music, song writer, Songs and Dances, traveler, women, Words on Wanderings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Adios

Leave a Reply

