River Of Heartbreak

      Just before I had my little mental shut-down, a week or so ago, I  finished this poem in a matter of hours. I liked it a lot  from the very beginning, for the way that it came together and the message of it’s content.  There is no present personal connection to it whatsoever, it was just a collection of thoughts that “flowed” like a river. I do hope you will find it to your liking as well.

      Make Tuesday a good day to be alive,

Jake.

River of Heartbreak

 From a trickle in a place,

on the far-side of nowhere,

and ever flowing faster,

to the sea,

that river runs through each of us,

and cleanses as it goes,

but in its wake,

leaves painful, memories.

Heartbreak is the name,

that’s given to it,

and standing on its banks,

are you and me.

Its current pulls apart,

the closest to it,

while the other, like a leaf,

goes sailing free.

Jack Downing

Apr. 2012

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 4/24/12

About poemsandponderings

I stand alone to gaze upon my days and years gone by. I've laughed, I've cried, I've loved and loathed, but now, I can't remember why! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in crystal rivers, journey, life, misery, poet, reflections, tears, the shore, thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to River Of Heartbreak

  1. Beth Ann says:

    It flowed very well!!! :-)

  2. Funny… I was just thinking about the nature of a broken heart this morning. Nice poem.
    And you are so funny! (referring to your comment above.)

  3. I feel the flow :) Seriously, this was very well written! Have a great day!!

  4. “that river runs through each of us” Unfortunately too few people of this planet are aware of this or have any appreciation of the fact.

Leave a Reply

