E Pluribus Unum

     After receiving a most touching comment from a very dear, and long-time  friend this morning, about yesterday’s posting of  “Hell‘s Fire,” concerning the poem itself, the inspiration for it, and the state of my “creative side,” (referring to it as a brick wall) a memory was sparked of the following poem. And how between friendship and/or common-goal achievement, great things can be done, and seemingly great problems can be overcome, by working together..

     So thank you to all, for your encouraging words and support, to assist me out of the “Doldrums.”  And so now I know, I do not sail alone upon a “Dead Sea” as I have a most able and admirable crew…So if I can be of some assistance to another who may be floundering in that same vessel, there in the “quiets”, please let me know. (It is not necessary to address me as “Captain, my Captain” Jack, Jake, John, Jerk, Jamocha among others, will suffice)!!!

     Please have free-thinking Friday,

Jake.

E PLURIBUS UNUM

 Grains of sand, along the beach,

insignificant, by the each,

joined together, in the breach,

provide the shore, for the ocean’s reach.

……………~~~~~~~~…………..

 An ant alone, is trod upon,

long before, the job is done.

But the colony, that acts as one,

completes the work, he had begun.

∞∞∞^^^^^∞∞∞

 The queen alone, cannot survive,

within the confines, of the hive,

united all, they stay alive,

the nectar’s that, for which they strive.

******θ******

 A single brick, upon a pile,

serves no purpose, all the while,

yet, when the bricks, are laid in file,

a man can walk, a million miles.

xxxxx_____xxxxx

 The solitary thread alone,

by the wind, is tossed, and blown.

When woven with others, of its own,

becomes the sail, that takes us home.

…………~~~~~~~~…………

Jack Downing

                                                                         Sept. 2009

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 4/20/12

About poemsandponderings

I stand alone to gaze upon my days and years gone by. I've laughed, I've cried, I've loved and loathed, but now, I can't remember why! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in Animals, craft, Firefighter, oceans, poet, sailors, seafarers, ships, the shore, Words on Wanderings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to E Pluribus Unum

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Oh I LOVE this one!!! And so true!!! We can all try to be an island but we really need others to keep us from floating away, don’t we???? You are always so encouraging and supportive to others so I am glad that you have felt the other side of that the past couple of days. Well deserved!!! We all need each other!!! Thanks for the reminder today to continue to be aware of that!

Leave a Reply

