Chivalry

     I was reminded of this short poem recently, when a “gentleman” neglected to hold a door open, (and certainly did not offer for her to precede him) for a lady who was approaching close-by. There was no possible way for him not to have seen her, as they were arriving from opposite directions. Where has chivalry (or just plain courtesy, for that matter) gone? 

     Have a safe and sensible Saturday,

Jake.

CHIVALRY

 Chivalry, they say,

has passed away,

and given up the ghost.

 Not true, say I,

it did not die,

it’s merely, comatose.

***

 Jack Downing

                                                                          Sept. 2010

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 4/14/12

About poemsandponderings

I stand alone to gaze upon my days and years gone by. I've laughed, I've cried, I've loved and loathed, but now, I can't remember why! ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in All the king's horses and all the king's men, education, history, humor, in my opinion, life, men, old days, truth, women and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Chivalry

  1. Keith P says:

    I find that chivalry is a wonderful thing. Women love it… and those who don’t aren’t women I want to be with. (I have been chastised for holding open a door, but that’s okay).

    • You know Keith, I’ve heard of people being chastised for holding a door for a woman, and that would bother me somewhat. but, I would have a response, such as; “I did it out of courtesy to you, and would have done so, regardless of your gender.”(though probably with somewhat less civility) But, what bothers me more than anything, is the ignorance of no response, whatsoever. To which I usually respond with a very audible..”YOU’RE WELCOME”…
      Thanks for the comment and the visit, you’re welcome anytime.
      Jake.

  2. Most people think its an exotic wine

  3. Pingback: An Officer & A Gentleman « Hocus Pocus

  4. Love this!!! As a teacher, I see the comatosed condition of all manners in general. It’s sad…and very difficult to counter when you’re just getting things started at age 12. I think there might be a critical period for good manners…and it’s before age 12, lol.
    Thanks for stopping by to visit my blog today :)

    • I do believe the critical stage begins around the age of 18months and should never stop..We cannot blame the child if they are not taught in the very beginning to respect others, regardless of gender, race, or religion. Thank you so much for your comment(s). And good luck with your students, you most likely will need it.

Leave a Reply

