The Willow’s Lament

    There is no special reason for this poem today, I was trying to decide which one to post, and when I came across this  from 2009, I didn’t think I had posted it before, (I am not going to do a lot of researching to find the answer to that question) and, there are a few more readers now, who may not have read it, if I had published it before… Oh, my head’s starting to hurt again….So enough, ready or not, here it comes.

     Weep not, this Wednesday, my friends,

Jake.

THE WILLOW’S LAMENT

 The willow weeps for no one,

but itself,

While the mighty oak, is destined,

for the shelf,

and the fir has a coat, that holds,

not warmth or wealth,

and the maple bleeds, in springtime,

for its health.

*

 The water falls from heights,

without harm,

and streams become, the river’s

arms,

reaching places, man has never seen,

still, if you listen,

You can hear, the willow’s mournful,

scream.

*

 The eagle soars to find,

what’s on the ground,

while man flies faster,

than the sound,

yet not knowing, that which,

he has found.

While the willow cries, to the earth,

to which it’s bound.

***

Jack Downing

                                                                         Nov. 2009

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 4/4/12

About poemsandponderings

Now Spring has arrived and now I must decide, which clothes that I can still wear. But I haven't lost any weight so I guess it's my fate to rummage through my closet and swear.
This entry was posted in Animals, crystal rivers, Earth and Us, environment, life, men, poet, tears, thoughts, women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Willow’s Lament

  1. Wow, Jake. That is really profound. I think it’s the best thing I’ve read from you so far. I have a soft spot in my heart for willow trees. We have a huge one in our yard that I often sit next to up on our hill.

    • Thank you, dear Ariadne,for saying that. Most of what I write is based on a single phrase or thought, and the rest is just words that rhyme, so please don’t give me a whole lot of credit for deep thinking…Although I do appreciate it..I have written that I have, “personalities” that seem toshow themselvesat times, with or without invitation. Scapegoats if you will, for whatever I write..lol

      ________________________________

  2. I love weeping willows and this poem captures the spirit of the willow for me. GREAT job!!

  3. Beth Ann says:

    Have to add my comment to the above that weeping willows are one of my favorite trees, too! Great offering today! You captured it perfectly!

  4. deanjbaker says:

    good to see this, Jake

  5. Pingback: Silver Willow | The Daily Sonnet

  6. sued51 says:

    I liked this poem a lot. And the picture too.

    • Thank you very much sue(d). The words are mine and the picture is just a google search for weeping willow, then click on images, plenty to chose from there. So happy that you liked the post and took the time to comment..Thanks again,
      Jake.

  7. Nae's Nest says:

    Reblogged this on Nae's Nest and commented:
    Another beautiful poem from Jack at peomsndponderings.wordpress.com This is about one of my favorite trees.

  8. 1stjoeyanna says:

    Beautiful! I almost feel as if I’m the weeping willow at times!

Leave a Reply

