Through Other’s Eyes

      While I was “pondering” what to post this morning, I started thinking, which is not always a good thing, and this poem came to me very easily. So I do not have to go back through my “library” today. Here is something fresh,  from the “subway station” that is my mind.

     I hope you enjoy it and that it gives you something to think about, on this Sunday morning.

     Have a special day,

Jake.

Through Other’s Eyes

If we could look at life,

through other’s eyes,

would the rain not fall,

would the sun not rise?

Would the summer visit,

all year long,

and the wind be breezes,

not fierce and strong?

Would rainbows,

mark our journey’s way,

and would we have,

no debts to pay?

Would we always smile,

upon our fellow-man,

and reach to offer,

a helping hand?

Would our pockets be lined,

with silver and gold,

and once we’ve passed,

our story told?

Would that “perfect” life,

make us happy then,

or would we crave,

to be us again?

***

 Jack Downing

Apr. 1, 2012

Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 4/1/12

About poemsandponderings

The voice of the people must never be silent but use the ballot not the bullet and be thoughtful, not violent. ~Jack Downing~
This entry was posted in environment, Hurricane, inner satisfaction, life, men, peace, rain, Success, wishing, women and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Through Other’s Eyes

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Your thinking cap did a great job today. Happy Palm Sunday to you my friend.

  2. I think that at this point in my life I’ve come to realize that I wouldn’t want to be anyone else but me in spite of all my weaknesses and flaws. It’s hard sometimes, but I’m comfortable here. It wasn’t always this way though. It took a long time to get here. I like your poem. :)
    (My mother always used to say ‘bless your little pea-pickin heart.” Never knew where she got it from. :) Hey, you learn something new every day, right?)

    • I oncewrote something to the effect; ‘They say everyday, we should learn something new, but lately allI’m learning, iswhat I can no longer do.’ But it is funny, how it can take a long time, of looking at other people and at ourselves, to realize that we aren’t so bad or so different,after all. I can relate to your situation, asI havefinally accepted and enjoy, who I am.. Thanks as always for your comments, Jake.

      ________________________________

  3. sheilabmarie says:

    This may have come easily, but you sure did grab me with this one. Through others we need to look more often, or as they say..”walk in someone elses shoes”.
    Great Post….As Always

    • You flatter me. Thank you. I remember writing, ‘that the very best work, of the poet and songwriter, is that which requires the least ofit..’ As you know, it is really a good feeling when the words flow, and fall together in just the right way, without the repeated editing, and you “like” the result. Thanks again Sheila, for your comments, as always they are appreciated.

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

