An Accidental Truth

     With the Supreme Court of the United States now debating whether the Federal Government can force health insurance upon all of its citizens,(at taxpayer expense) I thought this poem may be appropriate to the occasion. Also, as an aside I have added my opinion, as to such governments and their personal protection legislations.

     As my wife and I are polar opposites politically, I have indeed, stolen her accidental creativity, and used it to my advantage and credit, as promised…

I hope you like my wife’s poem.

Jake.

AN ACCIDENTAL TRUTH

 My wife has coined a phrase,

completely, without intention,

                                                    though, I will probably, eventually,

 take credit, for its invention.

*

 We were discussing the nation’s woes,

when, she meant to say,  D.C.,

then out it came, the appropriate name,

of Washington, disease.

*** 

Jack Downing

                                                                         Aug. 2009

                                                                                 ***

We as a people,

should be wary and distrustful of any government,

which legislates, to protect us, from our very selves.

When it is from said government, that we are in need,

of the most protection!

***

~Jack Downing~

 Copyright© Jack Downing, aka Jake @poemsandponderings.wordpress.com. All rights reserved. Contents may not be reprinted or disseminated in any manner without the expressed written consent of the author. JRD 3/29/12

About poemsandponderings

Now Spring has arrived and now I must decide, which clothes that I can still wear. But I haven't lost any weight so I guess it's my fate to rummage through my closet and swear.
This entry was posted in Americana, health care, history, in my opinion, incumbrances, judges, lawyers, poet, political, U.S. Government and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to An Accidental Truth

  1. That is quite a funny slip. :)

  2. sheilabmarie says:

    It is so ridiculous what is going on. Truly, disease is the approiate word to describe it. We as people debate and point fingers in every which direction, only to what end? It does more good to find humor and bring some light into it all- as you/and wife have done. ;)

  3. I love this :) Thanks for the chuckle!!

Leave a Reply

